Complimentary Webinars

Through June 30, AIChE members will receive complimentary, unlimited access to live and on-demand AIChE webinars by purchasing them with their newly increased number of credits. See more resources.

Resin Wafer Electrodeionization for Flue Gas Carbon Dioxide Capture

  • Type:
    Conference Presentation
  • Conference Type:
    AIChE Spring Meeting and Global Congress on Process Safety
  • Presentation Date:
    March 14, 2011
  • Duration:
    30 minutes
  • Skill Level:
  • PDHs:

Share This Post:

Energy efficient capture of CO2 from coal-fired power plants is one of the grand challenges for the U.S. both to end dependence on imported energy and to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Nalco Company and Argonne National Laboratory received a Department of Energy ARPA-E award to develop Resin Wafer Electrodeionization (RW-EDI) for the energy-efficient capture of CO2 from coal flue gas. RW-EDI is being used as an electrochemically-driven platform that switches pH in the process stream to efficiently capture CO2 from flue gas and then desorb it at atmospheric pressure without requiring heating, vacuum, or consumptive chemical usage. The acid/base pH shift drives the CO2 capture/desorption and enzymes and/or inorganic catalysts drive the targeted kinetics. The goal of the project is to demonstrate 90% capture of CO2 from synthetic flue gas (15% CO2) and 90% purity of the released stream of CO2. If successful, the CO2 capture process could significantly reduce the ~30 % parasitic energy loss associated with other capture technologies. Presented here will be recent results from a bench-scale system showing significant progress toward these goals.

Once the content has been viewed and you have attested to it, you will be able to download and print a certificate for PDH credits. If you have already viewed this content, please click here to login.



Do you already own this?



AIChE Member Credits 0.5
AIChE Members $15.00
AIChE Graduate Student Members Free
AIChE Undergraduate Student Members Free
Non-Members $25.00