Institute News: October 2018 | AIChE

You are here

Institute News: October 2018

Institute News

2018 Board of Directors’ and Institute Awards To be Presented at the Annual Meeting’s Honors Ceremony, Pittsburgh

AIChE will honor some of chemical engineering’s foremost practitioners, researchers, and educators with the presentation of the 2018 Institute and Board of Directors’ Awards. The awards will be given at the annual Honors Ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 28, during the AIChE Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA.

AIChE members in all areas of practice and academics are encouraged to nominate qualified candidates for future awards. Visit the AIChE website for more information about the Institute and Board awards: The deadline for 2019 nominations is Feb. 15, 2019.

Board of Directors’ Awards

Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering


Julio M. Ottino, Northwestern Univ.

For pioneering work establishing the mathematical foundations of fluid mixing, granular flows, and complex systems, and for thought leadership and creative vision in chemical engineering.

F. J. and Dorothy Van Antwerpen Award for Service to the Institute

Sponsor: The Dow Chemical Co.


Eduardo D. Glandt, Univ. of Pennsylvania

For advancing the good works of the chemical engineering profession and for strengthening the future of AIChE though exemplary leadership of the Institute’s philanthropic activities.

Institute Awards

Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute

Sponsor: E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.


Hal S. Alper, Univ. of Texas at Austin

For pioneering new approaches that merge and advance the areas of synthetic biology, protein engineering, and metabolic engineering to achieve novel phenotypes including chemical overproduction.

Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research

Sponsor: Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity and the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation


Eric S. G. Shaqfeh, Stanford Univ.

For groundbreaking work on vesicle and blood cell dynamics, and on suspensions of particles in viscoelastic fluids.

Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering

Endowed by the AIChE Foundation


Martin Z. Bazant, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

For pioneering contributions to fluid mechanics, electrokinetics, and electrochemical systems, including theories for induced-charge electro-osmosis, “shock electrodialysis” water desalination, and charging in Li-based batteries.

The Award for Service to Society


Daniel J. Lacks, Case Western Reserve Univ.

For service to society through leading professional development activities for engineering faculty and other professionals from countries that have been experiencing conflict and/or infrastructure limitations.

Industrial Progress Award


Michael D. Determan, 3M Co.

For his accomplishments in the invention, development, and commercialization of next-generation pressure-sensitive adhesives (PSA) with numerous industrial, electronic, and health care applications.

Industrial Research and Development Award


Kristin Thunhorst, 3M Co.

For excellence in research in materials, product and process development, and subsequent commercialization of new products and product enhancements in optics, energy, materials, and aerospace applications.

Industry Leadership Award


Jean W. Tom, Bristol-Myers Squibb

For more than three decades of transforming engineering science within the pharmaceutical industry via application of innovative approaches and development of industrial-focused chemical engineers.

Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology

Sponsor: Praxair, Inc.


Would you like to access the complete CEP Article?

No problem. You just have to complete the following steps.

You have completed 0 of 2 steps.

  1. Log in

    You must be logged in to view this content. Log in now.

  2. AIChE Membership

    You must be an AIChE member to view this article. Join now.

Copyright Permissions 

Would you like to reuse content from CEP Magazine? It’s easy to request permission to reuse content. Simply click here to connect instantly to licensing services, where you can choose from a list of options regarding how you would like to reuse the desired content and complete the transaction.