2nd Rock Stars of Regenerative Engineering

January 9, 2019

We are pleased to announce that the Regenerative Engineering Society presents its 2nd Rock Stars of Regenerative Engineering Conference.

Registration Info

Poster Size: 30" x 40" (any orientation)

2nd Rock Stars of Regenerative Engineering Conference, 2019 at UCSF

Special Thanks to:


Official Partner and Main Sponsor:

Keynote Speakers:

Invited Speakers:

  • Luis Alvarez, United Therapeutics 
  • Yi Arnold, Theradaptive
  • Robert Feldman, Upside Biotechnologies
  • Darrell Irvine, Massachusetts Institute of Technology "
  • Cato Laurencin, University of Connecticut 
  • Harry Ledebur, Axonova Medical, LLC 
  • Tatiana Segura, Duke University

Conference Co-Chairs:

  • Tejal Desai, University of California, San Francisco
  • Kevin Healy, University of California, Berkeley

Organizing Committee:

  • Ali Khademhosseini, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Sarah Heilshorn, Stanford University
  • Andrea Stasio, ARMI
  • Grey Chynoweth, ARMI

Featured Speakers

Jennifer Elisseeff

Professor and Director, Translational Tissue Engineering Center
Wilmer Eye Institute and Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Orthopedic Surgery, Chemical and Biological Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Elisseeff is a Professor and Director of the Translational Tissue Engineering Center at Johns Hopkins Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Wilmer Eye Institute with appointments in Chemical and Biological Engineering, Materials Science and Orthopedic Surgery.  She was elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological...Read more

Jeffrey Hubbell

Dr. Hubbell received his bachelor's degree from Kansas State University in 1982, and his PhD from Rice University in 1986, both in chemical engineering. He started his academic career as a member of the chemical engineering faculty at the University of Texas, then at the California Institute of Technology.Read more

Darrell Irvine

Dr. Irvine obtained an Honors Bachelor’s degree in Engineering Physics from the University of Pittsburgh.  As a National Science Foundation graduate fellow he then studied Polymer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Following completion of his Ph.D., he was a Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell postdoctoral fellow in immunology at the Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine. He is presently a Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He is an Associate Director for the Koch Institute...Read more

Cato Laurencin

Cato T. Laurencin is the Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and the Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Connecticut. He is also the Director of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Center for Biomedical, Biological, Physical and Engineering Sciences, and the Chief Executive Officer, The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering.

He is the 8th University Professor in the University...Read more

Tatiana Segura

Professor Tatiana Segura received her BS degree in Bioengineering from the University of California Berkeley and her doctorate in Chemical Engineering from Northwestern University.Read more

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic

Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic is University Professor, the highest academic rank at Columbia University reserved for only a few active faculty out of 4,000, as the first engineer in history of Columbia to receive this highest distinction.Read more