Cato T. Laurencin | AIChE

Cato T. Laurencin

University Professor and Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor, Chief Executive Officer
Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering, The University of Connecticut

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. is a designated University Professor at the University of Connecticut. 

He earned his B.S.E. in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University, his Ph.D. in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his M.D., Magna Cum Laude, from the Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Laurencin is the Founder of the Field of Regenerative Engineering. He is the Editor-in-Chief of Regenerative Engineering and Translational Medicine, and is the Founder and President of the Regenerative Engineering Society. Dr. Laurencin was named One of the 100 Engineers of the Modern Era by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. He won the William Grimes Award from AICHE, and served on the Board from 2018-2021. He received the Percy Julian Medal from the National Organization of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChe).

Dr. Laurencin has been honored by the White House on three occasions. He received the Presidential Faculty Fellow Award from President Bill Clinton, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Math and Engineering Mentoring from President Barack Obama, and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, America’s highest honor for technological achievement.

Dr. Laurencin received the NIH Director’s Pioneer Award and the NSF Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation Award (the agencies’ highest grant awards for innovation).  He has won singular national and international honors including the Philip Hauge Abelson Prize from the American Association for the Advancement of Science for “signal contributions to the advancement of science in the United States” and the UNESCO Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences for his field of Regenerative Engineering. Dr. Laurencin has two awards named in his honor.  The Society for Biomaterials established the Laurencin Travelling Fellowship and the W. Montague Cobb/NMA Health Institute established the Laurencin Lifetime Research Achievement Award. 

Dr. Laurencin is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine. He is the first to receive both the oldest/highest award from the National Academy of Engineering (the Simon Ramo Founder’s Award) and the oldest/highest award from the National Academy of Medicine (the Walsh McDermott Medal). 

Dr. Laurencin is an elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Academy of Inventors, an elected fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, the Indian National Academy of Sciences, the African Academy of Sciences and The World Academy of Sciences. Dr. Laurencin is an Academician and Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering.