Menu

Python for chemical engineers: Getting started

Presented by Paul Adamson, PhD
Wednesday, October 23, 2019, 9:00pm-10:00pm EDT
Event format: 
Virtual / Online
Posted by Paul Adamson

Python is a general-purpose programming language used extensively in web development, information technology automation, and TECHNICAL COMPUTING. In this presentation, we will explore some applications of Python technical computing in the chemical engineering domain.  First, we will learn about some of the various and easy ways to get up and running with Python including the Anaconda Python distribution.  Next, we will explore some general technical computing tasks such as importing data, solving systems of equations, plotting results, and writing results to files before we solve some classic chemical engineering problems. If there’s time at the end, we will wrap up with a demonstration of some atypical but perhaps useful techniques such as scraping data from scanned documents and character recognition with deep learning.

Paul Adamson is a researcher and project manager in the Plasma Physics Division of the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C.  The current focus of his research is computing electron scattering cross sections for air plasma chemistry models using close-coupling methods. This meeting is free and open to all, not just to Virtual Local Section members.

======================

THREE MEETING OPTIONS

======================

You can use this calculator to find out what time the meetings occur in your time zone:  https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html





UTC Offset Example Location Primary Meeting Alt 1 Meeting Alt 2 Meeting
  UTC Time Oct 24, 1:00 AM Oct 24, 10:00 AM Oct 24, 5:00 PM
UTC-7 Los Angeles, USA Oct 23, 6:00 PM Oct 24, 3:00 AM Oct 24, 10:00 AM
UTC-7 Phoenix, USA Oct 23, 6:00 PM Oct 24, 3:00 AM Oct 24, 10:00 AM
UTC-5 Mexico City, Mexico Oct 23, 8:00 PM Oct 24, 5:00 AM Oct 24, 12:00 PM
UTC-4 New York, USA Oct 23, 9:00 PM Oct 24, 6:00 AM Oct 24, 1:00 PM
UTC-3 Santiago, Chile Oct 23, 10:00 PM Oct 24, 7:00 AM Oct 24, 2:00 PM
UTC-3 Sao Paulo, Brazil Oct 23, 10:00 PM Oct 24, 7:00 AM Oct 24, 2:00 PM
UTC+1 London, UK Oct 24, 2:00 AM Oct 24, 11:00 AM Oct 24, 6:00 PM
UTC+1 Lagos, Nigeria Oct 24, 2:00 AM Oct 24, 11:00 AM Oct 24, 6:00 PM
UTC+2 Cairo, Egypt Oct 24, 3:00 AM Oct 24, 12:00 PM Oct 24, 7:00 PM
UTC+3 Istanbul, Turkey Oct 24, 4:00 AM Oct 24, 1:00 PM Oct 24, 8:00 PM
UTC+3.5 Tehran, Iran Oct 24, 4:30 AM Oct 24, 1:30 PM Oct 24, 8:30 PM
UTC+4 Dubai, UAE Oct 24, 5:00 AM Oct 24, 2:00 PM Oct 24, 9:00 PM
UTC+4.5 Kabul, Afghanistan Oct 24, 5:30 AM Oct 24, 2:30 PM Oct 24, 9:30 PM
UTC+5 Karachi, Pakistan Oct 24, 6:00 AM Oct 24, 3:00 PM Oct 24, 10:00 PM
UTC+5.5 Delhi (NCT), India Oct 24, 6:30 AM Oct 24, 3:30 PM Oct 24, 10:30 PM
UTC+5.75 Kathmandu, Nepal Oct 24, 6:45 AM Oct 24, 3:45 PM Oct 24, 10:45 PM
UTC+6 Dhaka, Bangladesh Oct 24, 7:00 AM Oct 24, 4:00 PM Oct 24, 11:00 PM
UTC+6.5 Yangon, Myanmar Oct 24, 7:30 AM Oct 24, 4:30 PM Oct 24, 11:30 PM
UTC+7 Jakarta, Indonesia Oct 24, 8:00 AM Oct 24, 5:00 PM Oct 25, 12:00 AM
UTC+8 Shanghai, China Oct 24, 9:00 AM Oct 24, 6:00 PM Oct 25, 1:00 AM
UTC+9 Tokyo, Japan Oct 24, 10:00 AM Oct 24, 7:00 PM Oct 25, 2:00 AM
UTC+11 Sydney, Australia Oct 24, 12:00 PM Oct 24, 9:00 PM Oct 25, 4:00 AM

PRIMARY MEETING (LIVE PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oct 24, 1:00 AM UTC Add this meeting to your calendar:  https://aiche.webex.com/mc3300/j.do?siteurl=aiche&ED=678112447&UID=536293332&ICS=MIFH

Meeting number/access code: 792 665 601

To use phone for audio:

1-866-469-3239 USA Toll Free

1-650-429-3300 USA Toll

A list of global call-in numbers can be found here: https://aiche.webex.com/aiche/globalcallin.php?MTID=me6346920db17e87aebeec45c011f551b

 
ALTERNATE 1 MEETING (RECORDED PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Oct 24, 10:00 AM UTC
 

When it's time, join the meeting:  https://aiche.webex.com/aiche/j.php?MTID=m8786dce7bd08b0e74616f1df95991e53

Meeting number/access code: 794 767 892

To use phone for audio:

1-866-469-3239 USA Toll Free

1-650-429-3300 USA Toll

A list of global call-in numbers can be found here: https://aiche.webex.com/aiche/globalcallin.php?MTID=m97546880c84a607df9b69b362326ec77

 
ALTERNATE 2 MEETING (RECORDED PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oct 24, 5:00 PM UTC



Add this meeting to your calendar:  https://aiche.webex.com/mc3300/j.do?siteurl=aiche&ED=678112677&UID=536293332&ICS=MIFH
Meeting number/access code: 797 032 015
 
To use phone for audio:
1-866-469-3239 USA Toll Free
1-650-429-3300 USA Toll
 
 
 

Use the button below to join the primary meeting: