Menu

"A Brief History of Measurement"

Wednesday, January 22, 2020, 9:00pm-10:00pm EST
Event format: 
Virtual / Online
Posted by Paul Shuey

The history of measurement science, or metrology, spans thousands of years. The bases for the English units of measurement have been defined and refined (and sworn at) over the past 6,000 years. Metric units are comparatively new, having been developed only over the past 240 years. These systems dominate modern measurement.  This history will highlight the influences of practicality, philosophy, trade, agriculture, conquest, colonization, politics, and even adventure as the units have been defined and re-defined over centuries. It follows the development of technology from the most primitive to the most esoteric as the need for higher accuracy developed.  The presentation will provide an abbreviated history of the English, or U.S. Customary, and the S.I metric systems. We will make a fast dash through the histories of the seven S.I. “base” units: length, mass, time, temperature, amount of substance, electrical current, and luminous intensity. We will then see how the base units are pulled together to define all the “derived” units. At the conclusion, we’ll take a look forward at where metrology is headed in the future. You’ve used measurement units all your life; now find out where they really came from and where they are going!



Steve Treese retired from Phillips 66 as the Hydroprocessing Team Lead in 2013; but continues to take on consulting assignments in process engineering and refining.  He started his professional career with Union Oil Company of California in 1973 as a Research Engineer with a BS in Chemical Engineering from Washington State University.  He followed company heritages through Unocal, Tosco, Phillips, ConocoPhillips, and Phillips 66.  Steve is a licensed Professional Engineer, with two recent books and several articles published. He has been an inventor on patents in diverse areas, including vessel internals, enhanced oil recovery, and hydroprocessing.  Steve’s hobbies include woodworking, boating, fermentation, robotics, and photography.  He is a mentor for FIRST Robotics Team 3049 in Bremerton, WA.  



This meeting is free and open to all, not just to Virtual Local Section members.  



======================

THREE MEETING OPTIONS

======================

You can use this calculator to find out what time the meetings occur in your time zone:  https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

UTC Offset

Example Location

Primary Meeting

Alt 1 Meeting

Alt 2 Meeting

 

UTC Time

Jan 23, 2:00 AM

Jan 23, 11:00 AM

Jan 23, 6:00 PM

UTC-8

Los Angeles, USA

Jan 22, 6:00 PM

Jan 23, 3:00 AM

Jan 23, 10:00 AM

UTC-7

Phoenix, USA

Jan 22, 7:00 PM

Jan 23, 4:00 AM

Jan 23, 11:00 AM

UTC-6

Mexico City, Mexico

Jan 22, 8:00 PM

Jan 23, 5:00 AM

Jan 23, 12:00 PM

UTC-5

New York, USA

Jan 22, 9:00 PM

Jan 23, 6:00 AM

Jan 23, 1:00 PM

UTC-3

Santiago, Chile

Jan 22, 11:00 PM

Jan 23, 8:00 AM

Jan 23, 3:00 PM

UTC-3

Sao Paulo, Brazil

Jan 22, 11:00 PM

Jan 23, 8:00 AM

Jan 23, 3:00 PM

UTC+0

London, UK

Jan 23, 2:00 AM

Jan 23, 11:00 AM

Jan 23, 6:00 PM

UTC+1

Lagos, Nigeria

Jan 23, 3:00 AM

Jan 23, 12:00 PM

Jan 23, 7:00 PM

UTC+2

Cairo, Egypt

Jan 23, 4:00 AM

Jan 23, 1:00 PM

Jan 23, 8:00 PM

UTC+3

Istanbul, Turkey

Jan 23, 5:00 AM

Jan 23, 2:00 PM

Jan 23, 9:00 PM

UTC+3.5

Tehran, Iran

Jan 23, 5:30 AM

Jan 23, 2:30 PM

Jan 23, 9:30 PM

UTC+4

Dubai, UAE

Jan 23, 6:00 AM

Jan 23, 3:00 PM

Jan 23, 10:00 PM

UTC+4.5

Kabul, Afghanistan

Jan 23, 6:30 AM

Jan 23, 3:30 PM

Jan 23, 10:30 PM

UTC+5

Karachi, Pakistan

Jan 23, 7:00 AM

Jan 23, 4:00 PM

Jan 23, 11:00 PM

UTC+5.5

Delhi (NCT), India

Jan 23, 7:30 AM

Jan 23, 4:30 PM

Jan 23, 11:30 PM

UTC+5.75

Kathmandu, Nepal

Jan 23, 7:45 AM

Jan 23, 4:45 PM

Jan 23, 11:45 PM

UTC+6

Dhaka, Bangladesh

Jan 23, 8:00 AM

Jan 23, 5:00 PM

Jan 24, 12:00 AM

UTC+6.5

Yangon, Myanmar

Jan 23, 8:30 AM

Jan 23, 5:30 PM

Jan 24, 12:30 AM

UTC+7

Jakarta, Indonesia

Jan 23, 9:00 AM

Jan 23, 6:00 PM

Jan 24, 1:00 AM

UTC+8

Shanghai, China

Jan 23, 10:00 AM

Jan 23, 7:00 PM

Jan 24, 2:00 AM

UTC+9

Tokyo, Japan

Jan 23, 11:00 AM

Jan 23, 8:00 PM

Jan 24, 3:00 AM

UTC+11

Sydney, Australia

Jan 23, 1:00 PM

Jan 23, 10:00 PM

Jan 24, 5:00 AM

PRIMARY MEETING (LIVE PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)

2:00 AM UTC Thursday, January 23, 2020

Add this meeting to your calendar:  https://calendar.google.com/event?action=TEMPLATE&tmeid=N2lmajdvZGpjb2lkZjczY2l2cTNtYWVlcmcgY2hhaXJAYWljaGUtdmxzLm9yZw&tmsrc=chair%40aiche-vls.org

When it's time, join the meeting:  https://zoom.us/j/972780862

Meeting number/access code: 972 780 862

To use phone for audio:        877 853 5257 US Toll-free

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/ai5uWhmhK

One-tap mobile:  +16699006833,,972780862# US (San Jose)

 

ALTERNATE 1 (RECORDED PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)

11:00 AM UTC Thursday, January 23, 2020

Add this meeting to your calendar:  https://calendar.google.com/event?action=TEMPLATE&tmeid=OXVsaWhxb2VyMXZlODQ3OXVqdG4zOWZpcDggY2hhaXJAYWljaGUtdmxzLm9yZw&tmsrc=chair%40aiche-vls.org

When it's time, join the meeting:  https://zoom.us/j/805626070

Meeting number/access code: 805 626 070

To use phone for audio:        877 853 5257 US Toll-free

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/ai5uWhmhK

One-tap mobile:  +16699006833,,805626070# US (San Jose)

 

ALTERNATE 2 (RECORDED PRESENTATION/LIVE CHAT)

6:00 PM UTC Thursday, January 23, 2020

Add this meeting to your calendar:  https://calendar.google.com/event?action=TEMPLATE&tmeid=dG9ucGMzMTNqZjZpaWVwN2MzNzJraGtyZTQgY2hhaXJAYWljaGUtdmxzLm9yZw&tmsrc=chair%40aiche-vls.org

When it's time, join the meeting:  https://zoom.us/j/900706844

Meeting number/access code: 900 706 844

To use phone for audio:        877 853 5257 US Toll-free

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/ai5uWhmhK

One-tap mobile:  +16699006833,,900706844# US (San Jose)



Use the button below to join the primary meeting: