Young Professionals Networking & Scholarship Presentations | AIChE

Young Professionals Networking & Scholarship Presentations

Wednesday, March 24, 2021,
6:00pm to 7:00pm
Virtual / Online

Introduction and Networking Session with Ice-Breakers - 30 mins
Student Chapter Advisor Introductions & Recognition of Scholarship Recipients - 30 mins

Come and support our scholarship recipients as they are publicly recognized and introduce themselves to the group with their "elevator pitch"

The North Jersey Section, AIChE
2021 Scholarship recipients:

Stevens Institute of Technology (SIT):
Dongrum Ju - Lee Parker Memorial Scholarship
Michael Devita - John Anderson Memorial Scholarship
Zachary Hacklander - Herb Fried Memorial Scholarship

New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT):
Olamide Omisakin - Ralph Cohen / Oden Knight Memorial Scholarship
Christian Kielbowicz - Otto York Memorial Scholarship
Emma Hamza - Stanley S. Grossel Memorial Scholarship
Sara Abdelhamid - Outstanding Chemical Engineering Senior
Natalie Wilson - Angelo J. Perna Memorial Scholarship

Refinery Automation Institute (RAI) Scholarships:
Daniela Bushiri (NJIT) - RAI Outstanding ChE Senior
Amanda Mavricos (SIT) - RAI Imaginative ChE Junior or Senior

The North Jersey Section AIChE supports AIChE Student Chapters at both the New Jersey Institute of Technology, and Stevens Institute of Technology. During the 1970’s the Section established scholarship funds for the outstanding chemical engineering students from each of the above institutions, who were also members of those school’s AIChE Student Chapters. Over the subsequent years the number of scholarships was increased, to include awards honoring North Jersey Section Charter Members, Past Chairpersons, and other Members of the Section who have made major contributions to AIChE and chemical engineering. Newly introduced for 2021 are three new "at large scholarships", which are not school-specific. Instead, these scholarships are awarded to the student nominee who best meets the requirements for that particular scholarship. These new awards were created and funded by Mr. Ara Barsamian, President and CEO of Refinery Automation Institute (RAI), and member of the North Jersey Section Executive Committee. All student nominees must fill out an application form for the scholarship award for which they are applying. All applications are then reviewed by the Executive Committee, who make the final determination on who is awarded a scholarship. The scholarships are wholly funded by the North Jersey Section, AIChE membership.