ME14 Technical Program | AIChE

Notice: Our Customer Service 1-800 line is currently down. To contact Customer Service within the United States, please call 1-203-702-7660. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Metabolic Engineering 14 - Technical Program

Download Technical Program

All sessions for this conference will be live and scheduled in multiple blocks across the 24-hour day to accommodate and maximize engagement for participants across all time zones. We recommend using the "Add to Calendar" feature on EACH BLOCK to ensure you have it in your calendar in the right time zone. 


BLOCK 1
Live Program

Live Program from: July 11, 2:00 PM PDT/ 5:00 PM EDT/ 21:00 GMT/ 23:00 CEST/ July 12, 5:00 CST (China)

until:
July 11, 4:30 PM PDT/ 7:30 PM EDT/ 23:30 GMT/July 12, 1:30 CEST/ 7:30 CST (China)


Add To Calendar

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
20:00 21:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
21:00 21:50 Welcome and Opening Ceremony / Plenary 1
21:00 21:15 Hal Alper (University of Texas at Austin, USA), Kristala Prather (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
21:15 21:50 Sunil Chandran (Amyris, USA). Clean Manufacturing: Powered by Biology
21:50 22:00 Break
22:00 22:55 Plant Biotechnology
22:00 22:05 Intro by session chairs: Christie Peebles (Colorado State University, USA) and Andrew Hanson (University of Florida, USA)
22:05 22:25 Elizabeth Sattely (Stanford University, USA). Discovery and Engineering of Plant Chemistry for Plant and Human Health
22:25 22:40 Karsten Temme (Pivot Bio, USA)
22:40 22:55 Joe Chappell (University of Kentucky, USA). Unraveling Native Biosynthetic Machinery to Enhance Chemical Production Platforms in Plants
22:55 23:30 Networking Session

BLOCK 2
Live Program

Live Program from: July 12, 7:00 AM PDT/ 10:00 AM EDT/ 14:00 GMT/ 16:00 CEST/ 22:00 CST (China)

until:
July 12
, 11:00 AM PDT/ 2:00 PM EDT/ 18:00 GMT/ 20:00 CEST/July 13, 02:00 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
12:00 13:45 Re-broadcast of Block 1 presentations
13:45 14:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
14:00 15:10 Syn Bio: Design, Control, and Expansion of metabolism
14:00 14:05 Intro by session chairs: Junbiao Dai (Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology, China) and Keith Edward Jaggard Tyo (Northwestern University, USA)
14:05 14:25 Ramon Gonzalez (University of South Florida, USA). New-to-Nature Pathways for the Microbial Synthesis of Natural Products
14:25 14:40 Ying-Jin Yuan (Tianjin University, China)
14:40 14:55 Chris Voigt (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA). Computer Aided Design of Ripp Pathways, from Therapeutics to Optical Materials
14:55 15:10 Han Li (University of California, Irvine, USA). Engineering an Orthogonal Redox Cofactor System for Cell-Free and Whole-Cell Biocatalysis
15:10 15:35 Networking/Break: Q+A for speakers
15:35 16:40 Plenary 2 / Stephanopoulos Award
15:35 15:45 Hal Alper (University of Texas at Austin, USA), Greg Stephanopoulos (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
15:45 16:05 Jens Nielsen (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark). Gregory Stephanopoulos Award Presentation
16:05 16:40 Sarah O'Connor (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Germany). Harnessing the Chemistry of Medicinal Plants
16:40 18:00 Poster Session

BLOCK 3
Live Program

Live Program from: July 12, 8:30 PM PDT/ 11:30 PM EDT/ July 13, 3:30 GMT/ 5:30 CEST/ 11:30 CST (China)

until:
July 12, 11:00 PM PDT/July 13, 2:00 AM EDT/ 6:00 GMT/ 8:00 CEST/ 14:00 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
0:45 3:00 Re-broadcast of Block 2 presentations
3:00 3:30 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
3:30 4:40 Metabolic Engineering of Microbes I
3:30 3:35 Intro by session chairs: Lori Maggio-Hall (International Flavors & Fragrances, USA) and Mark Blenner (University of Delaware, USA)
3:35 3:55 Akihiko Kondo (Kobe University, Japan)
3:55 4:10 Jim Liao (Academia Sinica, Taiwan). Genome editing and evolution of a synthetic methylotrophic E. coli strain that grows solely with methanol
4:10 4:25 Birgitta Ebert (University of Queensland, Australia). Multi-Level Engineering of Triterpenoid Production in Saccharomyces Cerevisiae
4:25 4:40 George Chen (Tsinghua University, China). Engineering Halomonas As a Chassis for Unsterile Production of Various Bioproducts
4:40 6:00 Poster Session

BLOCK 4
Live Program

Live Program from: July 13, 7:00 AM PDT/ 10:00 AM EDT/ 14:00 GMT/ 16:00 CEST/ 22:00 CST (China)

until:
July 13, 10:10 AM PDT/ 1:10 PM EDT/ 17:10 GMT/ 19:10 CEST/
July 14, 01:10 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
12:20 13:30 Re-broadcast of Block 3 presentations
13:30 14:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
14:00 15:10 Metabolic Engineering of Microbes II
14:00 14:05 Intro by session chairs: Patrick Westfall (Inscripta, USA) and Zengyi Shao (Iowa State University, USA)
14:05 14:25 Michael Jewett (Northwestern University, USA). Cell-Free Prototyping and Rapid Optimization of Biosynthetic Enzymes for Cellular Design
14:25 14:40 Christoph Wittmann (Saarland University, Germany)
14:40 14:55 Nancy DaSilva (University of California, Irvine, USA). Metabolic Engineering of Kluyveromyces Marxianus for High-Level Synthesis of Biobased Chemicals
14:55 15:10 Diethard Mattanovich (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Austria). An Engineered Calvin Cycle Enables the Yeast Komagataella Phaffii to Grow and Produce Organic Acids from CO2
15:10 15:35 Networking/Break + Q&A for speakers
15:35 16:15 Poster Session
16:15 17:10 Computational design and models/methods
16:15 16:20 Intro by session chairs: Ludmilla Aristilde (Northwestern University, USA) and Isabel Rocha (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa, ITQB NOVA, Portugal)
16:20 16:40 Jens Nielsen (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark). Computational Design of Yeast Metabolism
16:40 16:55 Pablo Carbonell (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
16:55 17:10 Soha Hassoun (Tufts University, USA)

BLOCK 5
Live Program

Live Program from: July 13, 9:00 PM PDT/ July 14, 12:00 AM EDT/ 4:00 GMT/ 6:00 CEST/ 12:00 CST (China)

until:
July 13, 11:00 PM PDT/July 14, 2:00 AM EDT/ 6:00 GMT/ 8:00 CEST/ 14:00 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
1:25 3:30 Re-broadcast of Block 4 presentations
3:30 4:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
4:00 4:45 A new home for secondary metabolites: in microbes (PART A)
4:00 4:20 Intro by session chairs: Yanran Li (University of California Riverside, USA) and Tiangang Liu (Wuhan University, China)
4:05 4:25 Jay Keasling (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
4:25 4:45 Claudia Vickers (CSIRO, Australia). Synthetic Biology Tools to Control Subcellular Carbon Competition and Biocatalysis Conditions: Isoprenoids As a Model System
4:45 5:30 Poster Session / Q+A Sessions
5:30 6:00 A new home for secondary metabolites: in microbes (PART B)
5:30 5:45 Irina Borodina (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark). Engineering Yeast to Produce Fungal Secondary Metabolites
5:45 6:00 Volker Wendisch (Bielefeld University, Germany). New Routes to Fermentative Production of Functionalized Amino Acids from Renewable Carbon Sources

BLOCK 6
Live Program

Live Program from: July 14, 2:00 PM PDT/ 5:00 PM EDT/ 21:00 GMT/ 23:00 CEST/ July 15, 5:00 CST (China)

until: July 14, 4:00 PM PDT/ 7:00 PM EDT/ 23:00 GMT/July 15, 1:00 CEST/ 7:00 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
19:15 20:30 Re-broadcast of Block 5 presentations
20:30 21:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
21:00 22:25 Lab to Industrial Scale: Realizing the potential of a biobased economy
21:00 21:05 Intro by session chairs: Yin Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China) and Christine Santos (Manus Biosynthesis, USA)
21:05 21:25 Xiucai Liu (Cathay Biotech Inc., China). Scale Up to a Million Tons: Bio-polymers at Petrol Scale
21:25 21:45 Jennifer Holmgren (LanzaTech, USA). Recycling Carbon- Innovating for a Carbon Smart Future
21:45 22:05 Aji Parayil (Manus Bio, USA). Reinventing Chemical Manufacturing Using Biotechnology: Manus Bio Approach
22:05 22:25 Hiroshi Izui (Ajinomoto, USA). Expanding the Possibility of Microbial Fermentation from Amino Acids
22:25 23:00 Poster Session

BLOCK 7
Live Program

Live Program from: July 14, 9:00 PM PDT/ July 15, 12:00 AM EDT/ 4:00 GMT/ 6:00 CEST/ 12:00 CST (China)

to: July 14, 11:30 PM PDT/July 15, 2:30 AM EDT/ 6:30 GMT/ 8:30 CEST/ 14:30 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
2:05 3:30 Re-broadcast of Block 6 presentations
3:30 4:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
4:00 4:55 Adaptive/Directed Evolution and Enzyme Engineering
4:00 4:05 Intro by session chairs: Alexandre Zanghellini (Arzeda, USA) and Aditya Kunjapur (University of Delaware)
4:05 4:20 Brian Pfleger (University of Wisconsin, USA). Engineering Enzymes to Control the Chain-Length Selectivity of Biosynthesized Oleochemicals
4:20 4:35 Katy Kao, (San Jose State University, USA). Continuous Recombineering to Expedite Strain Development
4:35 4:55 Jack Pronk (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands). Eliminating Growth-Factor Requirements for Aerobic and Anaerobic Applications of Yeasts
5:00 5:55 Systems Bio + ‘omics: role of big data
5:00 5:05 Intro by session chairs: Dong-Yup Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea) and Aindrila Mukhopadhyay (Berkeley Lab, USA)
5:05 5:20 Nigel Mouncey (DOE Joint Genome Institute, USA). Engineering Biology to Access the Galaxy of Natural Products
5:20 5:40 Sang Yup Lee (KAIST, Korea). Deepx Platforms for Systems Metabolic Engineering and Systems Medicine
5:40 5:55 Steffen Klamt (Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems, Germany). Enforced ATP Wasting As Metabolic Engineering Strategy: New Applications and Testing the Limits of E. coli’s Metabolic Capacity
5:55 6:30 Networking/Q+A

BLOCK 8
Live Program

Live Program from: July 15, 7:00 AM PDT/ 10:00 AM EDT/ 14:00 GMT/ 16:00 CEST/ 22:00 CST (China)

until:
July 15, 10:30 AM PDT/ 1:30 PM EDT/ 17:30 GMT/ 19:30 CEST/
July 16, 01:30 CST (China)

ADD TO CALENDAR

Start (GMT) End (GMT)  
11:40 13:30 Re-broadcast of Block 7 presentations
13:30 14:00 Virtual Doors Open for Networking
14:00 15:10 Biofoundries: Strain Engineering at the Speed of Automation 
14:00 14:05 Intro by session chairs: Nathan Hillson (Berkley Lab, USA) and Renee Wegrzyn (Ginkgo Bioworks, USA)
14:05 14:25 Tomohisa Hasunuma (Kobe University, Japan). Metabolomics-Directed Synthetic Bioproduction of Alkaloid and Challenge to Establish High-Throughput Analysis System
14:20 14:35 Paul Freemont (Imperial College London, UK). Using Biofoundries to Accelerate Strain Engineering: From DNA Assembly to Cell-Free Prototyping
14:35 14:55 Huimin Zhao (University of Illinois, USA). Bioautomata: A Self-Driving Biofoundry
14:55 15:10 Jed Dean (Zymergen, USA). Biofacturing: A better way to make the chemicals and materials of the future
15:10 15:45 Awards Ceremony and Lecture
15:10 15:35 Awards Ceremony
15:35 16:10 Costas Maranas (Pennsylvania State University, USA). Metabolic Engineering Award Lecture: Optimization Guided Explorations in Metabolic Engineering
16:10 16:30 Networking/Break
16:30 17:25 A tribute to 13C
16:30 16:35 Intro by session chairs: Yinjie Tang (University of Washington, USA) and Hiroshi Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan)
16:35 16:55 Greg Stephanopoulos (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA). What have we learned from labeling, fluxes and flux analysis?
16:55 17:10 Katharina Nöh (Jülich, Germany). Shifting the Limits of Bayesian Inference in Metabolic Modeling: The HPC Sampling Library Hops
17:10 17:25 Maciek Antoniewicz (University of Delaware, USA). Metabolic Flux Responses to Deletion of 46 Core Enzymes Reveals Flexibility and Limits of E. coli Metabolism
17:25 17:30 Conference Closing Ceremony


BLOCK 9
Re-broadcast from: July 15, 11 AM HST/ 2 PM PDT/ 5 PM EDT/ 21:00 GMT/ 23:00 CEST/ July 16, 5:00 CST (China)

until: July 15, 5:00 PM HST/ 8:00 PM PDT/ 11:00 PM EDT/ July 16, 3:00 GMT/ 5:00 CEST/ 11:00 CST (China)
Start (GMT) End (GMT) Re-broadcast of Block 8 presentations
21:00 (July 15) 3:00 (July 16) Additional re-broadcasts may be shown during this time - TBA.