RE Society Related Awards & Recognitions

This page lists awards and recognitions related to the Regenerative Engineering Society in reverse chronological order. This news is also published in the RE Society Journal, which you can subscribe to here.

Awards & Recognitions in November 2016 issue

2016 MacArthur Fellowship

Professor Rebecca Richards-Kortum (Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Department of Bioengineering, Rice University) won a 2016 MacArthur Fellowship for her contribution in developing numerous practical biomedical ap- proaches including a portable, high-resolution microendoscope for diagnosis and treatment of cancers. MacArthur Fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards, known as “Genius Grant”, and its current prize is $625,000. Since 1981, the MacArthur Fellows Program has recognized 942 talented individuals who have exceptional originality, sig- nificant achievements, and dedication in their creative pursuits.

Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award

Professor Nicholas A. Peppas (Sc. D., Professor and Director of the Institute for Biomaterials, Drug Delivery and Regenerative Medicine, Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering, University of Texas at Austin) was honored with the Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award from the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES). Professor Peppas was recognized for his leadership and exceptional achieve- ments for advancing science and practice in the field of bio- medical engineering.

BMES announced the Class of Fellows for 2016

  • BMES announced the Class of Fellows for 2016. Recipients were elected based on their outstanding achieve- ments in biomedical engineering with consistent contribution within the society. A list of BMES Class of 2016 Fellows include:
  • Ali Khademhosseini (Ph.D., Professor in the Department of Medicine, Harvard Medical School),
  • Angelique Louie (Ph.D., Professor and Vice Chair in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of California, Davis),
  • Bahman Anvar (Ph.D., Professor in the Department of Bioengineering at University of California, Riverside (UCR)),
  • Béla Suki (Ph.D., Professor, Biomedical Engineering, Boston University),
  • Elizabeth G. Loboa (Ph.D., Professor and Associate Chair, Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at UNC-Chapel Hill and NC State University),
  • Jason H. T. Bates (Ph.D., D. Sc., Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, University of Vermont),
  • John P. Fisher (Ph.D., Fischell Family Distinguished Professor and Chair in the Fischell Department of Bioengineering, University of Maryland),
  • Sanjay Kumar (M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Bioengineering at University of California, Berkeley), and
  • Stelios Andreadis (Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, State University of New York at Buffalo).
  • 2016 Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize

2016 Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize

Professor Douglas A. Melton (Xander University Professor at Harvard University, Co-chair of the Harvard University Department of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology) was awarded the 2016 Ogawa-Yamanaka Stem Cell Prize and its $150,000 prize by the Gladstone Institutes. Professor Melton was recognized for his research on using stem cells for devel- oping insulin-producing beta cells for the treatment of diabetes.

Lifetime Achievement Award  (TERMIS)

Professor Michael V. Sefton (Michael E. Charles Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto) received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS) for the year 2016. Professor Sefton was recognized for his lifelong commitment and achievements to the field. Prof. Sefton was one of the first to use scaffolds with cells, effec- tively pioneering the modern day field of tissue engineering.

Senior Scientist Award  TERMIS

Professor Ali Khademhosseini (Professor at Harvard Medical School) was honored with the Senior Scientist Award from the TERMIS for his significant contributions in the field of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. Professor Khademhosseini has recognized for developing nu- merous innovative materials and technologies for controlling composition, structure, and function of engineered tissues.

2016 Till & McCulloh Award

Professor Molly Schoichet (Professor of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Chemistry and Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto, Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering) received the 2016 Till & McCulloh Award, recognizing her contributions to stem cell research and the use of hydrogels for stem cell transplantation. The award is recognized after Drs. James Till and Ernst McCulloh, the pioneers of stem cell biology.

New Members of National Academy of Medicine (NAM)

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) announced 70 new members and nine international members during its 2016 annual meeting. Newly elected members were recognized for their distinguished contributions and achievements in medical science and public health. A list of the new members includes: Francis J. Doyle III (Ph.D., Dean, Harvard Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Science and John A. and Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences), Paula Hammond (Ph.D., David H. Koch Professor in Engineering and head of MIT’s Department of Chemical Engineering), and Samir Mitragotri (Ph.D., Mellichamp Chair Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at University of California, Santa Barbara).