2019 E2S2-CREATE and AIChE Waste Management Conference

March 11-13, 2019
Add to Calendar

The 2019 E2S2-CREATE and AIChE Waste Management Conference invites international academic, government and industrial speakers to share their professional insights in their respective waste management fields.

Register Now

Submit an abstract here

>">Download Conference Flyer >>

Download Conference Flyer >>

Call for Abstracts is Open

Submit an abstract here

Submit an abstract for an Oral or Poster presentation on one of the following themes:

Conference themes:

  • Recycling and waste sorting behavior
  • Food waste and anaerobic digestion technology
  • Gasification technology
  • Conversion of waste to resource
  • System and industrial ecology
  • Waste handling technology and circular economy
  • Environmental technology for waste management
  • Solar thermal processing
  • Urban Metabolism model
  • Distributed WTR Systems

The final deadline for submission is 10 February  2019.

Meet the editors of leading journals and submit for a special issue

Conference Organizers

The conference is co-organized by the AIChE Institute for Sustainability and the E2S2-CREATE.

Conference Chair:

Conference Co-chairs:

  • Yen Wah Tong, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Yong Sik Ok, Korea University, South Korea
  • Jeffrey Seay, University of Kentucky, United States
  • Xiao Liu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Adil Dhalla, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Scientific Committee:

  • Yinghong Peng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China (Committee Chair)
  • Xiaotao Bi, The University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Yanjun Dai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Tianshu Ge, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Shih-Hsin Ho, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • Deyi Hou, Tsinghua University, China
  • Duu-Jong Lee, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Wojciech Lipiński, The Australian National University, Australia
  • Grzegorz Lisak, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Yong Sik Ok, Korea University, South Korea
  • Filip Tack, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Seck Tan, Singapore Institute of Technology, Singapore
  • Daniel CW Tsang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Yiu Fai Tsang, The Education University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Ruzhu Wang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Xiaonan Wang, National University of Singapore
  • Siming You, University of Glasgow, UK

Important Dates

rolling Deadline for the submission of abstracts

 10 February 2019

Notification of early abstract acceptance

 18 January 2019

Early bird registration ends

 31 January 2019

Conference Date

 11-13 March 2019

Featured Speakers

Xiaotao Bi

Dr. Xiaotao (Tony) Bi is a professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of British Columbia, and is a Fellow of Canadian Academy of Engineering. He has been an associate director of the Clean Energy Research Centre (www.cerc.ubc.ca), director of China-Canada Bioenergy Centre (c-cbc.center), and manager of the Fluidization Research Centre (www.frc.engineering.ubc.ca/). His current clean energy research has been focused on development of fluidized bed reactors for...Read more

Jiří Jaromír Klemeš

Previously the Project Director, Senior Project Officer and Hon Reader at Department of Process Integration at UMIST, The University of Manchester and the University of Edinburgh, UK. Founder and a long-term Head of the Centre for Process Integration and Intensification – CPI2, University of Pannonia, Veszprém, Hungary. Awarded by the EC with Marie Curie Chair of Excellence (EXC). Track record of managing and coordinating 93 major EC, NATO and UK Know-How projects. Research funding attracted over 29 M€. Co-Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Cleaner Production and Chemical Engineering...Read more

Jie Lu

Distinguished Professor Jie Lu is a Fellow of IEEE and Fellow of IFSA, an internationally renowned scientist in the areas of computational intelligence, specifically in decision support systems, fuzzy transfer learning, concept drift, and recommender systems. She is the Director of Centre for Artificial Intelligence (CAI) and the Associate Dean in Research Excellence in the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology at University of Technology Sydney (UTS). She has published six research books and over 400 papers in Artificial Intelligence, IEEE transactions on Fuzzy Systems and...Read more

Ashok Pandey

Professor Ashok Pandey is currently Distinguished Scientist at the Centre for Innovation and Translational Research, CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, Lucknow, India and Executive Director (Honorary) at the Centre for Energy and Environmental Sustainability – India. Formerly, he was Eminent Scientist at the Center of Innovative and Applied Bioprocessing, Mohali and Chief Scientist & Head of Biotechnology Division and Centre for Biofuels at CSIR’s National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Trivandrum. His major research and technological development...Read more

Yongguan Zhu

Dr Yongguan (Y-G) Zhu, Professor of Biogeochemistry and Environmental Biology, is the Director General of the Institute of Urban Environment, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He has been working on the biogeochemistry of nutrients, metals and emerging pollutants (such as antibiotics and antibiotic resistance genes). Professor Zhu is a leader in taking multi-scale and multi-disciplinary approaches to soil and environmental problems. Before returning to China in 2002, he was working as a research fellow (Supported by the Royal Society London), the Queen's University of Belfast, UK (1994-...Read more