Shining Star Award | AIChE

You are here

Shining Star Award

The Local Sections Committee and Career and Education Operating Council are proud to announce this annual award program designed to recognize outstanding volunteerism at the AIChE local section level that will hopefully act as incentive for others to become more involved in local section activities.


Free registration and expenses paid (up to $1000) to the Spring Meeting, or the Annual Fall Meeting.

DeadlineNovember 30, 2022
AdministratorsLocal Sections Committee (LSC)
PresentationShining Star Awards are announced in June. Winners are invited to attend the Local Section Committee meetings and Volunteer Recognition Reception at that year’s Annual meeting to be presented with their award.
Nomination Instructions

Nominations must be submitted by local section officers on behalf of members with at least three years of professional membership in AIChE. In each annual award cycle, a section's officers can submit up to two nominations. Both small and large local sections are invited to nominate their most active members.

This award is designed to recognize long-term volunteerism in the local section. It can also be to recognize an individual for a significant contribution to a large event like a conference.

We are looking for those volunteers that show:

  • Dedication and personal commitment to AIChE and the Local Section
  • Willingness to take on a daunting task
  • Eagerness to set an example for others
  • Willingness to step up and help the section when it needed it the most
  • A long history of service to the section
  • Infusion of new ideas / energy into the section

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must be received by November 30 and recipients will earn the award for redemption for one of two conference events in the following calendar year. 

Awards granted are based on merit as decided by the Local Sections Committee. The LSC can grant awards on a first come, first served basis if there are fewer eligible nominations than awards. If there are more eligible nominations than awards, then the LSC will award the best nominees.  This award can be awarded to an individual one time only.

Nomination Form

Award winners