2019 Battery and Energy Storage Workshop

October 21-22, 2019
Add to Calendar

The Battery and Energy Storage workshop seeks to engage chemical engineers and researchers working in the field of battery technologies to identify, communicate and explore current advancements in battery design, manufacture, and recycling.

Accepting Poster Submissions until October 15th!

Submit an Abstract Register Today!

2019 BES Workshop Flyer

Technical Program

Poster Presenters

Invited Speakers:

  • Amy Marschilok, SUNY Stonybrook
  • Lauren Marbella, Columbia University
  • Bruce Usher, Columbia University Business School
  • GJ la O', Primus Power
  • Tom Zawodzinski, Univeristy of Tennessee
  • Gabriel Veith, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Rebecca Ciez, Princeton University
  • Robert Messinger, City College of New York
  • Constantine Spanos, ConEd
  • Benjamin Sorkin, Flux Marine/Navatek
  • Jershow Alexej, New York University
  • Vijay Modi, Columbia University
  • Joshua Gallaway, Northeastern University
  • Gautam G. Yadav, Urban Electric Power

Session Topics:

  • Electrified Transportation
  • Grid-Level Energy Storage: New Concepts vs. Li-Ion
  • Manufacturing
  • Diagnostics
  • Battery Safety
  • Policy and Investments

Conference Chairs:

Organizing Committee:

  • Rebecca Ciez, Princeton University 
  • Lauren Marbella, Columbia University
  • Robert Messinger, City College of New York
  • Chunsheng Wang, University of Maryland
Joshua Gallaway, Northeastern

Featured Speakers

Amy Marschilok

Amy C. Marschilok, Ph.D. Research Professor and University Instructional Specialist in the Departments of Materials Science and Chemical Engineering and Chemistry at Stony Brook University. She holds a joint appointment as Scientist and Energy Storage Group Leader in the Energy and Photon Sciences Directorate at Brookhaven National Laboratory. She also serves as Deputy Director for the Center for Mesoscale Transport Properties (m2M/t EFRC). Her research centers on investigation of new material and electrode concepts for high power, high energy density, extended life primary and secondary...Read more

Gleb Yushin

Gleb Yushin is a Co-Founder & CTO of Sila Nanotechnologies. He is also a Professor of Materials Science at Georgia Institute of Technology and an Editor-in-Chief for Materials Today. Gleb has co-authored over 150 peer-reviewed publications, and over 40 patents. For his contributions to the development of energy storage materials Gleb has received numerous awards and was recognized as one of the world’s most influential scientific minds by the Electrochemical Society.

Gleb holds BS and MS degrees in Physics from Polytechnic Institute and a PhD in Materials Science from North...Read more

Thomas A. Zawodzinski

Thomas Zawodzinski is presently the Governor’s Chair in Electrical Energy Storage with a joint appointment at UT-Knoxville and ORNL.

Prior to his recent appointment, Dr. Zawodzinski was the F. Alex Nason Professor of Engineering at Case, Director of the Case Advanced Power Institute and the Ohio Eminent Scholar in Fuel Cells.  His research group focuses on the fundamental science and application of fuel cells.  Research includes efforts related to the understanding and development of high temperature membranes for fuel cells as well as on catalysis and durability issues in...Read more