AIChE Members Elected to NAE's Class of 2024 | AIChE

AIChE Members Elected to NAE's Class of 2024

February 12, 2024

The U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has announced its new members for 2024. Among the new class of 114 U.S.-based and 21 international NAE members, the following members of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) have been elected to NAE’s distinguished ranks.

Shailendra V. Bordawekar, Vice President, Small Molecule Chemistry, Manufacturing and Controls Development, AbbVie Inc. (Gurnee, IL) — For leadership in the pharmaceutical industry, developing life-saving medicines, influencing regulations, and advocating for women in engineering.

Jingguang Chen, Thayer Lindsley Professor of Chemical Engineering, Columbia University (New York, NY) — For discovering new catalysts and synchrotron techniques to connect catalytic and electrocatalytic mechanisms under reaction conditions.

Chunqing Liu, Research and Development Senior Fellow and Senior Manager, Green H2 Growth Vector Group, Honeywell (Des Plaines, IL) — For polymer and membrane innovations for cost-effective natural gas and green hydrogen production and use.

Umit S. Ozkan, Distinguished University Professor and Distinguished Professor of Engineering, William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH) — For research in electrocatalysis and elucidation of mechanisms of oxidation catalysis.

Constantinos Pantelides, Managing Director, Process Systems Enterprise Ltd. (London, United Kingdom) — For process modeling and optimization, and for pioneering modeling software.

Robert K. Prud'homme, Professor Emeritus of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Princeton University (Princeton, NJ) — For mass manufacture of SARS-CoV-2 vaccines and other applications to improve human health.

David S. Sholl, Director, Transformational Decarbonization Initiative, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Oak Ridge, TN) — For addressing large-scale chemical separation challenges, including carbon dioxide capture, using quantitative materials modeling.

Jose E. Tabora, Senior Scientific Director, Chemical Process Development, Bristol Myers Squibb (Princeton, NJ) — For pharmaceutical process development through innovations in modeling, design of experiments, and data analysis.

Cristina Urdaneta Thomas, 3M Global Research and Development Services Leader (retired), 3M Company (Stillwater, MN) — For innovation, commercialization, and leadership in using polymeric materials for energy savings and traffic safety, and to ensure worker well-being.

Hye Kyung Timken, Principal Scientist and Chevron Fellow, Chevron Technical Center (Richmond, CA) — For environmentally friendly processes for producing hydrocarbon fuels.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. The newly elected members will be formally inducted during the NAE’s annual meeting on September 29, 2024. To learn more about this year’s NAE class, visit

# # #

About AIChE: The Global Home of Chemical Engineers

Founded in 1908, AIChE is a professional society of more than 60,000 chemical engineers in 110 countries. Its members work in corporations, universities and government, using their knowledge of chemical processes to develop safe and useful products for the benefit of society. Through its varied programs, AIChE continues to be a focal point for information exchange on the frontiers of chemical engineering research in such areas as energy, sustainability, biological and environmental engineering, nanotechnology, and chemical plant safety and security. Learn more at