2017 Annual Student Conference Chem-E-Car Competition® | AIChE

2017 Competition Rules

Please visit the Chem-E-Car Competition® Rules website here for the updated rules and deadlines.

A highlight of the Annual Student Conference, more than 40 student teams from around the world will be racing their chemically powered vehicles. Come and cheer for your favorite team as they compete for the international title! Please note that the first run of the competition will begin at 12:30pm.  The Chem-E-Car Competition is sponsored by Chevron.

2017 Chem-E-Car Competition® Competitors



Team Name

Mid America Iowa State University Lime-E-Lanturns
Mid America Oklahoma State University Abs(0)
Mid America University of Nebraska - Lincoln  
Mid Atlantic The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art Lemon Aid
Mid Atlantic The City College of New York Sulfurious
Mid Atlantic University of Maryland, College Park Mishell
Mid Atlantic University of Pittsburgh  
Mid Atlantic Virginia Tech MetalliCar
North Central McMaster University Mac Minion
North Central Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology The Great Gasby
North Central Trine University  Cu L8r
North Central University of Cincinnati  
North Central University of Michigan  
Northeast Cornell University Ratchet
Northeast Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute RPI Battery Car Mk1
Northeast Universite Laval Ulaval Express IV
Pacific Northwest Washington State University The Coug
Pacific Northwest Oregon State University Chem Kardashian
Rocky Mountain Arizona State University  Fred's Revenge
Rocky Mountain Colorado State University The Flashing Ram
Rocky Mountain University of Colorado - Boulder Separation Anxiety
Southern Georgia Institute of Technology Ramblin Wreck
Southern The University of North Alabama LUNA
Southern The University of Kentucky, Paducah Hindenburg
Southern University of Louisiana at Lafayette pHat Tuesday
Southern University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Chem-eleon
Southwest Texas A&M University, Kingsville ChemE=mc2
Southwest Texas Tech University Tower of Power
Western UC Los Angeles The Chem-E-Car
Western UC Irvine Model S
Western University of Southern California Tirebiter
China Northwest University  
Colombia Universidad Nacional de Colombia Sede Medellín Hydrocar
INT QU AIChE / Qatar University   
INT Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember  
INT VIT University Student Chapter  
INT King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals   
INT National Taiwan University  
INT Hong Kong University of Science and Technology   
INT NIT Rourkela  
INT Tianjin University  
INT Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería  
INT Aristotle University of Thessaloniki  

2017 Chem-E-Car Competition® Spotlight Videos

Teams competing in the 2017 competition at the Annual Student Conference submitted videos to spotlight their car here and introduce it at the competition.

See all Spotlight Videos on ChEnected

2016 Chem-E-Car Competition® Winners

The winner of the 2016 Annual Student Conference Chem-E-Car Competition® was Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology.  Check out coverage from the 2016 Competition here.

2016 Chem-E-Car Competition® Video

Check out the 2016 Promo video from the Chem-E-Car Competition here.