2012 Chem-E-Car Competition at the Annual Student Conference | AIChE

Cornell wins 2012 National Chem-E-Car Competition

This year’s Chem-E-Car competitors were challenged with a running distance of 21m and a load of 300mg. Cornell’s team and their car, Zapdos, took home the top prize in the 2012 Chem-E-Car Competition® with a perfect score of 0.0 m.

Read More and See Official Video

2012 Chem-E-Car Series on ChEnected

See interviews from multiple Chem-E-Car teams, including host schools and see photo highlights of the competition.

Go to Series

2012 National Chem-E-Car Competitors

These teams have designed and built vehicles powered solely by chemical reactions. They will race Sunday, October 28 from 2:00 – 4:30 PM.

Student Chapter



Car Name



Arizona State University Devon Bridgeman  César I. Torres Hydrospark Rocky Mountain 1st 
Bucknell University Megan Wilson Tim Raymond Bucknell ChemE Car Mid Atlantic Wild Card
California State Polytechnic Institute, Pomona Scott Fowler Thuan K Nguyen HorsePower Western 1st
Carnegie Mellon University Amy Yuan Julie Tilton Juggernaut Mid-Atlantic 5th
Colorado State University Bria Boeggeman Tim Gonzales Poudre Cruiser Rocky Mountain Wild Card
Cooper Union Lisa Liu Daniel Lepek SCU-S2012 Mid Atlantic Wild Card
Cornell University Jennifer Brenner Jeffery Varner Zapdos Northeast 2nd
Johns Hopkins University Joe Colao Joelle Frechette Hop Wheels Mid-Atlantic 3rd
Louisiana State University Amit Mishra Francisco Hung The base bullitt Southern 4th
Michigan Technological University Justin Levande Tomas Co Paradise Lost North Central 1st
Missouri University of Science and Technology Joe Hoing Dr. Daniel Forciniti ChemE Boat Mid America Wild Card
Northeastern University  William Langhauser Courtney Pfluger Mount Saint Husky II Northeast 1st
Ohio University, Athens Nicholas Dunfee Dr. G.G. Botte S-Pee-D Racer North Central 4th
Oklahoma State University Matt Miskelly Heather Fahlenkamp Lee Majors Mid America 2nd
Purdue University Eric Boehlefeld Michael Harris Thunder Mobile North Central 2nd
Rice University Erica Tam Ken Cox CHBE Bunny Southwest 1st
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Sumit Sikka Dr. Tomassone Abandon Ship! Mid Atlantic 4th
Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico Rafael Serna Cornejo Juan Alejandro Alvarez Guerra Chilaquil Southwest Wild Card
Texas A&M University at Qatar Yahia Abo Al Naga Dr. Ghada Salama Bolt International n/a
Texas Tech University Jimmy Woods Dr. Mark Vaughn The Dude Southwest Wild Card
University of Akron Bradford Vielhaber Chelsea Monty Spontaneous Combustion North Central 3rd
University of Houston An Dinh Miguel Fleischer Zombie Cougalac Southwest 2nd
University of Louisiana,  Lafayette Forrest Kidder William Chirdon Plan B Southern 5th
University of Maine Nicholas Hart John Hwalek SKIEAST Mobile Northeast 3rd
University of Maryland, College Park Nicholas Lepak Chunsheng Wang  Spontaneous Combustion Mid Atlantic 2nd
University of Nebraska, Lincoln Stephen Schlender Leonard Akert Determinator Mid America 3rd
University of North Dakota Jerrold Zettel Frank Bowman UND Two Towers Rocky Mountain 1st
Univeristy of Pittsburgh Andrew Zmolek Di Gao Walt Mid-Atlantic 1st
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez William Arzola Dr. L. Antonio Estévez CoKí Stroj Southern 1st
University of South Florida Justin Stottlemyer Dr. Ryan Toomey The Bull Runner Southern 2nd
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga Benjamin Kegley Dr. Tricia Thomas Scrappy Southern 3rd
University of Texas, Austin Albert Chan Christopher Ellison Moe 3.0 Southwest Wild Card
University of Tulsa Moustfa Moursy Tyler Johannes Golden HurryCar Mid America 1st
University of Utah Tess Young Tony Butterfield Myrtle Rocky Mountain 3rd
University of Washington Alex Kon Professor Daniel T. Schwartz Lab Rover Pacific Northwest 1st

See 2011 Chem-E-Car Highlights