Industry 4.0 Panel Discussion

Monday, April 23, 2018, 9:30am-11:00am EDT

Industry 4.0 represents the fourth industrial revolution using cyber-physical systems to produce breakthrough improvement in manufacturing productivity, safety, and competitiveness. It is driven by emerging technologies including big data analytics, robotics, augmented reality, internet of things, digitalization, cybersecurity, and artificial intelligence.

The new Industry 4.0 Program at the Meeting this year will have several tracks featuring Industry leaders representing Government & Cybersecurity viewpoints, experts in implementing Industry 4.0 in the plants, Industry 4.0 overall experts, as well as RAPID and Safety points of view.

This panel session brings together world-class experts to set the Industry 4.0 vision, share success stories, provide industrial implementation experiences, and highlight U.S. Government programs to accelerate Industry 4.0.


  • Leo Chiang, The Dow Chemical Company
  • Scott McWhorter, Savannah River National Laboratory


  • Billy Bardin, Global Operations Technology Director, The Dow Chemical Company
  • Rob Ivester, Deputy Director of the EERE Advanced Manufacturing Office, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Haresh Malkani, CTO, Clean Energy Smart Manufacturing Innovation Institute (CESMII)
  • Adele Ratcliff, Director, IBAS (DoD MIBP)
  • Moderated by Jim Davis, Vice Provost - IT/Chief Academic Technology Officer, UCLA

Billy B. Bardin

2017 Spring & 13th GCPS Monday Luncheon Speaker Billy B. Bardin is the Global Operations Technology Director. His responsibilities include driving technology and innovation strategy within Manufacturing and Engineering (M&E) and oversight of all commercial technologies as well as development of technical talent across manufacturing and supporting operations.Read more

Jim Davis

Jim Davis is Vice Provost - IT / Chief Academic Technology Officer at UCLA and Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Jim Davis, Jim Porter and Tom Edgar are co-founders of the Smart Manufacturing Leadership Coalition (SMLC). Working with industry and academia, Jim led early concepts of SM and development of the Smart Process Manufacturing roadmap, which is continually referenced today. Davis is currently leading SMLC’s technical and strategic direction as SMLC’s CTO, leading industry-driven technical committees to shape SM Platform requirements and specifications. Davis has...Read more

Rob Ivester

Dr. Robert W. Ivester currently serves as the Deputy Director of the Advanced Manufacturing Office (AMO) in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. AMO is focused on creating a fertile innovation environment for advanced manufacturing, enabling vigorous domestic development of new energy-efficient manufacturing processes and materials technologies to reduce the energy intensity and life-cycle energy consumption of manufactured products.Read more

Haresh Malkani

Haresh Malkani has three decades’ experience in industrial research, development and engineering, much of that time focused on the application of smart manufacturing technologies ranging from sensors to simulation to advanced process controls. In his role as CTO for CESMII, Dr. Malkani oversees the organization’s technology mission and roadmap, as well as spearheading development of technologies spanning advanced sensors, controls, platforms, data analytics, modeling for manufacturing, and smart manufacturing standards and protocols. Prior to joining CESMII, he was Director of...Read more

A. Adele Ratcliff

Ms. Adele Ratcliff is currently the Director of the Manufacturing Resiliency & Assurance office and the Industrial Base Analysis & Sustainment Program (IBAS) within the Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Manufacturing and Industrial Base Policy (ODASD(MIBP)). During her tenure in OSD, she has focused on building strong interagency partnerships to address broad transition of manufacturing issues such as manufacturing readiness and the Advanced Manufacturing Enterprise.  Her current position uses the broad authorities of the Industrial Base Analysis &...Read more