Dr. Moiz Diwan selected to receive 2021 Young Leader Award | AIChE

Dr. Moiz Diwan selected to receive 2021 Young Leader Award

[February 11, 2021] The Management Division Young Leader Award recognizes an outstanding leader age 40 or younger who has made a significant contribution to the success of their organization by advancing a scope, project, unit, plant, division, technology, strategy, or company that made an impact to the practice or field of chemical engineering. Dr. Moiz Diwan was selected to receive this award in 2021, the second year this award is presented. The presentation will take place during the 2021 AIChE Spring Meeting held virtually at a session on April 20, 2021 at 11:00 am CST.


Moiz Diwan is a Director within the Process Research and Development organization at AbbVie. He has led early to late-stage pharmaceutical development teams involving drug substance control strategy development, establishing global supply chain, process tech-transfer and scale-up, and authored global regulatory filings for first gen HCV Viekira and HCV next gen Mavyret drugs. Presently, Moiz leads a Center of Excellence, a cross functional team of chemists, engineers, and PAT scientists focusing on fundamentals-driven process development through application of enabling technologies, data-rich experimentation, and predictive modeling. This center has supported commercial process development and regulatory submission of five drugs in the last four years. Moiz is passionate about people, building and sustaining high performance organizations, continuous learning, and translating science and innovation into products that make a difference to human health.


Dr. Diwan has captured his scientific contributions in over 50 journal publications, patents, book chapters, and invited seminars and conference presentations. He is a Board member of AIChE’s PD2M Committee and the Purdue Chemical Engineering Industrial Advisory Committee. Moiz has received several awards for his accomplishments and has a bachelor’s degree from Indian Institute of Technology and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Purdue University, all in chemical engineering.

The Young Leader Award is sponsored by The Chemours Company.