Sustainable Engineering Forum Student Paper Award | AIChE

You are here

Sustainable Engineering Forum Student Paper Award

Awards are presented to full-time undergraduate or graduate students who prepare the best technical papers that describe results related to engineering and sustainability.



Up to three papers will be selected each year.  Student Award recipients will receive $500 for travel expenses associated with attending the AIChE annual meeting, plus a certificate of recognition.

Selection Criteria:

  1. Technical merit: The student(s) needs to provide original experimental data and/or published facts.
  2. Quality: The student(s) should have the paper published (or to be published) in a refereed journal within the last two years.  Papers submitted to (but not yet accepted to) technical journals may be considered for this award.
  3. Results: The content of the paper needs to describe significant (to society) results.
  4. Authorship: The student(s) needs to be the primary author(s).
  5. Qualifications: The student(s) must be members of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the SEF, and an ABET accredited Chemical Engineering program.
DeadlineJuly 1, 2022
AdministratorsSustainable Engineering Forum (SEF)
PresentationThe Award will be presented at the Sustainable Engineering Forum luncheon during the AIChE Annual National Meeting. The Forum may offer to present the award at a SEF plenary session.
Nomination Instructions

Papers may be submitted directly by student(s) or another AIChE member. An e-mail copy of the paper and a completed nomination form are to be sent to the SEF Awards Committee Chair. The student may submit an application to join SEF, if not already a member. 

Application/Nomination documents should be submitted to: Professor Fengqi You as a single PDF file by email

SEF Awards Committee Chair: Professor Fengqi You


Nomination Form

Or Contact SEF Awards Committee Chair for Nomination Form