Student Co-op and Internship Presentation Competition | AIChE

You are here

Student Co-op and Internship Presentation Competition

Are you enjoying your time as an intern or co-op, or working on a unique or exciting project? Then enter for a chance to share your experience, practice your presentation skills, and win great awards!

Participants must meet the following qualifications:

  • Undergraduate ChemE students (graduating Dec 2019 or later)
  • Fall 2018 or Spring/Summer 2019 Co-op or Intern students
  • Teams of 2 students are permitted if both meet qualifications
  • Virtual Local Section Membership is not required to participate

Submit an abstract and the top four (based on VLS leadership review) will be invited to present at our September meeting. Students should present their original work done during the co-op or summer internship. Students should receive their mentors’ approval before submitting an abstract. Students must be available to present on Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 8:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time (USA) with a telephone (preferred) or microphone and internet connection.

Award details
  • USD$500 1st place
  • USD$250 2nd place
  • USD$150 each for 2 Finalist Awards
DeadlineAugust 9, 2019
AdministratorsVirtual Local Section
Nomination Instructions

Presentations should be less than 10 minutes and will be judged by practicing chemical engineers and AIChE VLS members, based on:

  • Application/demonstration of chemical engineering principles to students’ work
  • Understanding of process and/or chemistry
  • Clarity/appearance of slides and presentation
  • Understanding how student’s work is used/applied/extended into other applications/industries
  • Ability to answer questions


  • August 9, 2019 - Abstracts due online
  • August 26, 2019 - Students notified of acceptance
  • August 16, 2019 - Presentations due
  • August 16-23, 2019 – “Dry run” to test WebEx connections
  • August 25, 2019 – Presentations and Awards

The submission form is available online at Submit questions to Noah Meeks, Past Chair, at

Submit Abstract Here


Award Winners