Minority Affairs Community's Janice Lumpkin Travel Award | AIChE

You are here

Minority Affairs Community's Janice Lumpkin Travel Award

This award is dedicated to Janice Lumpkin.

Dr. Lumpkin’s goals during her time at University of Maryland Baltimore County were to excel in all areas of academic life including research, teaching and service.  She balanced the many competing demands of her family and professional life, and successfully established a nationally-recognized research program in biochemical engineering, while also compiling a long list of teaching awards.  Dr. Lumpkin served as an outstanding role model for the campus community, and will be most remembered at the University for her deep commitment and concern for students and for inspiring women and minorities to pursue studies in science and engineering.

Full Bio of Janice Lumpkin


Complimentary registration to the 2024 AIChE Annual Meeting and a $500.00 Travel Allowance

DeadlineSeptember 1, 2024
AdministratorsMAC | Minority Affairs Community (MAC)
PresentationThis award is presented every year at the AIChE Annual Meeting. The recipients are expected to attend the MAC Business Meeting and Eminent Engineers Breakfast at the Conference.
Nomination Instructions
This award is selected from applications received by the MAC Awards Committee.  Eligible applicants include AIChE Members who are graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, or young professionals who identify as members of an underrepresented minority group (i.e., African-American, Hispanic, Native American, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander).  A complete application will include the following components:
1. One (1) statement by applicant describing how the nominee will benefit from receiving the Janice Lumpkin Award to attend the AIChE Annual Meeting (i.e., presenting research, engaging in professional development/networking opportunities, etc.), as well as detailing any service contributions to AIChE and MAC.
2. Applicant’s resume or CV
All nominations must be submitted online using the form below.

Award winners