Rossi Setchi | AIChE

Rossi Setchi

Professor - School of Engineering
Cardiff University

Professor R. Setchi leads Mechanics, Materials and Advanced Manufacturing at the School of Engineering of Cardiff University. She received her Double Honours degree in Mechanical and Electrical Engineering (first class, Summa Cum Laude) from Moscow Technological University in Russia, and her PhD from Cardiff University, UK. Professor Setchi joined the School of Engineering as a Lecturer in 2000; she was promoted to a Senior Lecturer in 2007 and Chair in 2011.

Professor Setchi’s main research interests are in sustainable manufacturing, manufacturing and design informatics, systems engineering, design, robotics, AI, HCI, and knowledge engineering. She has international reputation for her research in the area of knowledge engineering and semantic engineering systems.

Honours and awards

  • 2015 KES Award for outstanding contribution and leadership
  • Best Paper Awards at KES2012, San Sebastian, Spain and KES2013, Kitakyushu, Japan
  • Donald Julius Groen Prize, 2004 - awarded for a journal paper on case-based generation of product support and contribution to manufacturing
  • Literati Club Award, 1999 - awarded for a journal paper on computational modelling and robotics

Speaking engagements

  • Keynotes at KES2015, Singapore (2015), IEC, Malaysia (2014), KSS, Sapporo, Japan (2014)
  • Invited lectures at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA (2015), Xiamen University, China (2014), Kyoto University, Japan (2012 and 2010), China Agricultural University (2012), University of Strasbourg, France (2012), University of Rousse, Bulgaria (2011), Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona, Spain (2011), Tsinghua University, China (2010), the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2010), National University of Singapore (2010), University of Tokyo (2010), Keio University (2010), and Nagoya University (2010).
  • Invited lectures at University of Chile, Santiago, Chile (2009), Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China (2008), VTT Espoo and VTT Tampere, Finland (2008), Deakin University and University of Technology Sydney, Australia (2008) and the University of Seville, Spain (2005)