Yong Wang | AIChE

Yong Wang

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Dr. Wang received his PhD degree in Chemical Engineering from WSU in 1993. He joined (PNNL) in 1994 as a postdoc, and was promoted to laboratory Fellow in 2005. He has served as the Associate Director of the Institute for Integrated Catalysis at PNNL (http://iic.pnl.gov) since 2008. In 2009, Dr. Wang took a joint appointment at PNNL and WSU. In this unique position, he continues to be a Laboratory Fellow and associate director of IIC at PNNL and is the endowed Voiland Distinguished Chair Professor in Chemical Engineering at WSU. Dr. Wang is best known for his leadership in the development of novel catalytic materials and reaction engineering to address the issues with energy and atom efficiency related to the conversion of fossil and biomass feedstocks to fuels and chemicals. Dr. Wang has authored >300 peer reviewed publications in lead scientific journals including Science, Science Advances, Nature group journals, JACS, Angewandt (H index=70 and >22,000 citations).  He has co-edited 2 books and 5 special journal issues, and given more than 200 invited presentations. He is the inventor on 286 issued patents including 108 issued U.S. patents (>90% of his patents are licensed to industries). He is elected to National Academy of Inventors and Washington State Academy of Sciences.  He is a fellow of AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers), ACS (American Society of Chemistry), RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry), and AAAS (American Association of the Advancement of Science).  He has won numerous awards including 2017 ACS I&EC Division Fellow Award, 2006 Asian American Engineer of the Year Award, Presidential Green Chemistry Award, 3 R&D 100 Awards, Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award from WSU’s Voilland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, 2 PNNL Inventor of the Year Awards, Battelle Distinguished Inventor Award, and the first recipient of PNNL Laboratory Director’s Award for Exceptional Scientific Achievement Award. He is the past chair of the Energy & Fuel Division of the American Chemical Society, and currently serves the ACS National Award Committee and editorial board of 8 catalysis and energy related journals including ACS Catalysis and Catalysis Today.