Yogi Goswami | AIChE

Yogi Goswami

University of South Florida

Dr. D. Yogi Goswami is the John and Naida Ramil Professor in the Chemical Engineering Department and Co-Director of the Clean Energy Research Center at the University of South Florida. He conducts fundamental and applied research on Solar Thermal Power and Cooling, Photocatalytic Detoxification and Disinfection, Thermodynamics, Third Generation Photovoltaics, and Hydrogen production. Dr. Goswami has served as an advisor and given testimonies on energy policy and the transition to renewable energy to the US Congress and the Government of India, as well as providing consultant expertise to the US Department of Energy, USAID, World Bank, NIST, among others. Professor Goswami is the Editor-in-Chief of the Solar Energy journal, and Advances in Solar Energy: Annual Review of Research and Development. Within the field of Renewable Energy he has published as an author or editor 14 books, 13 book chapters, 6 conference proceedings and more than 200 refereed technical papers. He has delivered 41 Keynote and Plenary lectures at major international conferences. He also holds 16 patents and 5 provisional or pending patents. Two of his inventions have been successfully commercialized and two others are in the process of being commercialized.

A recognized leader in professional scientific and technical societies, Prof. Goswami has served as a Governor of ASME-International (2003-2006), President of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES, 2004-2005), Senior Vice President of ASME (2000-2003), Vice President of ISES and President of the International Association for Solar Energy Education (IASEE, 2000-2002). Dr. Goswami is a Fellow of the ASME International, and the American Solar Energy Society. He is a recipient of the Farrington Daniels Award from ISES, Frank Kreith Energy award and medal from ASME, John Yellott Award for Solar Energy from ASME and the Charles Greely Abbott award and Hoyt Clark Hottel award of the ASES, and more than 50 awards and certificates from major engineering and scientific societies for his work in renewable energy.