Doros Nicolas Theodorou | AIChE

Doros Nicolas Theodorou

Professor of Chemical Engineering
National Technical University of Athens

Doros Theodorou was born in Athens, Greece in 1957.  He obtained a Diploma in Chemical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) in 1982.  In September 1981 he started his graduate studies in the Department of Chemical Engineering at M.I.T., where he earned a Master of Science degree in 1983 and a Ph.D. in 1985.

After fulfilling his military duty in Greece, he started his academic career as Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley (UCB) in August 1986.  There he was promoted to Associate Professor in 1990 and to Full Professor in 1994.  In parallel, he was Associated Faculty at the Center for Advanced Materials of the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (LBL), where he directed a new research effort on polymer-surface interactions.

In 1995 he resigned his position at  UCB and LBL and relocated to Greece as Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Patras and adjunct faculty member at ICE/HT-FORTH.  In parallel, he worked as a Collaborating Researcher at the Institute of Physical Chemistry of NCSR “Demokritos”.   In 2002 he moved from Patras to Athens as Professor in the School of Chemical Engineering at NTUA and director of the Computational Materials Science and Engineering (CoMSE) group. 

His research focuses on the development of new computational techniques for understanding and predicting properties of materials based on their chemical constitution, with emphasis on synthetic polymers and zeolites.  He has authored and co-authored  more than 160 research papers, 26 chapters in books and review articles, and the books Simulation Methods for Polymers with M.J. Kotelyanskii  and Diffusion in Nanoporous Solids with  J. Κärger και D. Ruthven.  He represented Greece to the mobility of researchers program of the European Union (1995-2004) and was a member of the National Council of Research and Technology of Greece (2010-2013).

His work has been recognized with the Presidential Young Investigator Award of the ΝSF  (1988-1992), the Science Award of the Bodossakis Foundation in Chemistry (1996), the Danckwerts Lectureship of the AIChE (2006), the D. Medema Award of the Dutch PTN (2009), the Bird-Stewart-Lightfoot Lectureship of the University of Wisconsin (2013), and the John M. Prausnitz award of PPEPPD (2016).  In February 2015 he was elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.