Debalina Sengupta | AIChE

Notice: AIChE Customer Service telephone lines have been temporarily impacted by Tropical Storm Isaias. Most calls will reach a representative, however, if you have an issue please email and we will respond as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Debalina Sengupta

Associate Director
Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station - Gas and Fuels Research Center

Debalina Sengupta obtained a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Chemical Engineering from Jadavpur University, Calcutta, India, in 2003. In 2010, she earned the Doctor of Philosophy degree in chemical engineering from the Department of Chemical Engineering at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Her research was on the optimization of industrial complexes and sustainability analysis using Total Cost Assessment Methodology. Following this, her first book titled “Chemicals from biomass: integrating bioprocesses into chemical production complexes for sustainable development” was published by CRC Press in the Green Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Series in 2012. After her PhD, she worked at the National Risk Management Research Laboratory of the United States Environmental Protection Agency, Cincinnati, OH as an ORISE Post Doctoral Fellow in the Sustainable Technology Division. Her research at the EPA was focused on Sustainable Supply Chain Design of Biofuels and Consumer Products, and decision-making in Sustainability using metrics and indicators. She has worked at Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University as a postdoctoral research associate where she developed educational modules for sustainable manufacturing. Dr. Sengupta is currently appointed as the Associate Director of the TEES Gas and Fuels Research Center. She is also co-authoring her second book titled “Measuring Progress towards Sustainability”, a Springer Publication. Dr. Sengupta is a Director for the Fuels and Petrochemicals Division at AIChE for the 2016-2019 term, and has served as the Director of Environmental Division for the 2011-2015 term. She has also chaired the Process Development Section of the Environmental Division, and currently is the Chair for Programming for the Environmental Division. She is an active member of the Sustainable Engineering Forum at the AIChE.