Minority Affairs Committee's Minority Scholarship Awards for College Students | AIChE

You are here

Minority Affairs Committee's Minority Scholarship Awards for College Students

The AIChE Minority Scholarship Award is presented to selected AIChE undergraduate student members annually. Applicants shall be required to be undergraduates in chemical engineering during the current academic year and be members of a minority group that is under-represented in chemical engineering, i.e., African-American, Hispanic, Native American, Alaskan Native, Pacific Islander.

Applicants who will complete the chemical engineering baccalaureate degree requirements in mid-academic year (i.e., after one semester of one or two quarters), if successful, will receive prorated awards.  

Questions? Contact felig@aiche.org

Award details

An award of $1,000 per student per scholastic year, renewable to the following year as long as the student continues to meet the eligbility requirements.

DeadlineSeptember 20, 2020
AdministratorsMinority Affairs Committee (MAC)
PresentationStudents are recognized at the Annual Student Conference Awards Ceremony each year.
Nomination Instructions

Rules, Requirements, Selection Criteria and Application Form 

It's important to read and understand the Rules, Criteria and Submission Requirements for the scholarship before submitting your application. You will find them within the online application below. It is also recommended that you review the application questions and required supporting documents in advance of submitting the applictaion (prepare your answers on a separate sheet and have your supporting documents ready for upload). Answers and supporting documents cannot be saved within the online application before submission. Incomplete or unqualified applications will not be accepted.

Award winners

  • Raquel Domingos
    Louisiana State University

  • Kendra Ford
    University of Louisville

  • Deonate Frazier
    Mississippi State University

  • Nathan Garcia
    University of Florida

  • Pamela Okaro
    University of Tulsa

  • Ozem Onya-Franklin
    Prairie View A&M University

  • Esmeralda Orozco
    University of Iowa

  • Carlos Prieto-Perez
    Virginia Tech

  • Isabela Ramirez
    Syracuse University

  • Zeshan Rizvi
    Prairie View A&M University

  • Janessa Sandoval
    SUNY College of Environmental Science & Forestry

  • Gabriel Shlain
    University of Michigan