Donald Q. Kern Award | AIChE

You are here

Donald Q. Kern Award

In honor of Donald Q. Kern, pioneer in process heat transfer, the Division recognizes an individual's expertise in a given field of heat transfer or energy conversion.

Established in 1973 by the Executive Committee of the Heat Transfer and Energy Conversion, now known as the Transport and Energy Processes Division of AIChE, the award honors Donald Q. Kern, a pioneer in the field of process heat transfer, and commemorates his outstanding contributions as a researcher, educator, author, and practicing engineer.

The Donald Q. Kern Award is bestowed annually in recognition of the expertise in a given field of heat transfer, transport phenomena, and energy processes. 

Special emphasis is given to contributions that have significant practical applications. 

Currently, the award is financially supported by the Transport and Energy Processes Division (TEP) of AIChE.

Award details

A plaque and $1,000.

DeadlineAugust 31, 2019
AdministratorsTransport and Energy Processes Division (TEP)
PresentationThe winner will have the option to receive the award at the Annual or Spring AIChE Meeting (with travel to a meeting at his/her own cost)
Nomination Instructions

All nominations for the Kern award should be sent (electronically only) to the Chair of the TEP Division: Prof. Yangchuan Xing at by June 30, 2019 who will forward them to the Award Selection Committee. Old Nominations will be reconsidered only if the nominator informs the TEP Chair.

Nomination Form