Donald F. & Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Awards

Each year, Donald F. & Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Awards 15 AIChE student members a scholarship of $1,000. Awards are presented on the basis of academic achievement and involvement in student chapter activities. Nominations must be made by the Student Chapter Advisor. Only one nomination will be accepted from each AIChE Student Chapter or Chem. E. Club. 

The Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Awards of $1,000 each are awarded to chemical engineering students for their outstanding academic achievement and involvement in student chapter activities. 
Photo Above: 2016-2017 Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Award Winners with 2016 AIChE President Greg Stephonopolous, during ceremony at the 2016 AIChE Annual Student Conference in San Francisco, California, USA. Photo Credit: Margot Hartford
June 15, 2018
Award Administrator(s): 

$1,000 and a certificate.

Scholarship funds are sent to recipients in the fall of each year.

2018 Rules, Criteria and Submission Requirements

  1. Only one nomination will be accepted from each AIChE Student Chapter. In the event that there is more than one qualified member of a student chapter or club, the advisor must select using the criteria below, which member to nominate. 
  2. Applicants must be AIChE student members at the time of the nomination and undergraduates in Chemical Engineering during the 2018 – 2019 academic year. Nominees must have completed approximately 50% of their degree requirement at the start of the 2017-2018 academic years (i.e. junior standing in chemical engineering in a 4 year program or equivalent for a 5 year co-op program). The chapter advisor may nominate a student who will complete the chemical engineering baccalaureate degree requirements in mid year (i.e. after one semester or one or two quarters), but such nominees, if selected, will receive prorated awards.  
  3. Nomination must be made by the Student Chapter Advisor.
  4. Selection of winners will be based on the following criteria:
    1. The applicant’s academic record.
    2. The applicant’s participation in AIChE Student Chapter, and other professional activities as outlined by the Student Chapter advisor in his/her nomination letter.
    3. The support of the nominee by the Student Chapter Advisor.
    4. Applicant’s career objectives and plans as outlined in his/her career essay.
  5. Cash awards totaling $15,000 will be made for use during the 2018-2019 academic year; individual awards for the full academic year will be $1,000. Awardees will be notified by October 1, 2018 and then required to provide individual tax information (social security number for U.S. residents) in order to receive payment. All award prizes must be claimed by December 31, 2018. 

Instructions for submitting an application

A complete application for the 2018-2019 AIChE Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Award will contain a copy of each of the following items (each letter should contain an original signature to be scanned and uploaded). All applications are submitted online.
From the student:
  • A completed application form submitted online.
  • A statement from the nominee not to exceed 300 words, outlining his/her career plans and objectives in chemical engineering including immediate plans after graduation and long range career objectives.
From the college:
  • A letter of recommendation from the AIChE student chapter advisor containing verification of nominee’s GPA and projected completion date as well as an evaluation of the student’s academic performance and participation in AIChE and other professional activities.

It's important to read and understand the above Rules, Criteria and Submission Requirements for the Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship Award before submitting your application. It is also recommended that you prepare your answers and have your supporting documents ready in advance of completing the online application (answers and supporting documents cannot be saved within the application before submission). Incomplete or unqualified applications will not be accepted.

Go to Application Form

Award Winners

Tarique Ahmad
Missouri University of Science & Technology
Kartik Bomb
VIT University, Vellore
Silvia Colussi-Pelaez
Oregon State University
Kristen Culbertson
University of Dayton
Matthew Davenport
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Joelle Khouri
The Pennsylvania State University
Samuel Locke
University of Cincinnati
Tyler Roberts
University of Delaware
Paradorn Rummaneethorn
Princeton University
Lindsay Seeley
Virginia Commonwealth University
Malay Shah
North Carolina State University
Garrett Strong
Brigham Young University
James Wortman
Michigan State University
Kevin Zhang
Rice University
Elizabeth Zimmerman
The University of Iowa
Jackson Bauer
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Drew Biedermann
University of Virginia
Cynthia Bukowski
Worcester Polytechnic Institute