Listed below are winners of all major awards presented at the meeting. Click on the award links to quickly see winners of a specific type of award.

Board of Directors Awards

- AIChE -

F.J. & Dorothy Van Antwerpen Award for Service to the Institute

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis is Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Associate Dean for Research in the College of Engineering at the University of Florida.  Professor Curtis received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University (1983) and a PhD in Chemical Engineering from...Read more

Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering

Carol K. Hall

I am the Camille Dreyfus Distinguished University Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State Univ. Originally trained in physics, I have been in chemical engineering since 1977, when I joined Princeton’s Chemical Engineering Dept. as one of the first women to be...Read more

Institute Awards

- AIChE -

Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute

Bradley Olsen

Professor Olsen earned his S.B. in Course 10 (Chemical Engineering) from MIT in June 2003. His undergraduate research with Prof. Karen Gleason focused on understanding the polymerization kinetics of initiated chemical vapor deposition reactions to produce fluorocarbon and organosiloxane polymer...Read more

Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research

Award Sponsor(s): Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation
James A. Dumesic

James A. Dumesic earned his B.S. degree from UW-Madison and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University, under the supervision of Professor Michel Boudart.  Dumesic joined the Department of Chemical Engineering in 1976, and he is currently the Steenbock Chair in the College of...Read more

Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering

Samir Mitragotri
Dr. Samir Mitragotri is a Professor of Chemcial Engineering at the Univesity of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB). He is also the founding Director of the Center for Bioengineering at UCSB, Professor Mitragotri received Ph.D. from MIT in 1996 and B.S. from the Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai in 1992, both in Chemical Engineering.Read more

Energy and Sustainability Award

Award Sponsor(s): Air Products & Chemicals, Inc.
Dr. Urmila M. Diwekar

Dr. Urmila M. Diwekar is the president and founder of the Vishwamitra Research Institute, a non-profit research organization. From 2002-2004, she was a full Professor in the Departments of Bio, Chemical, and Industrial Engineering at the Institute for Environmental Science and Policy, University...Read more

Industrial Research & Development Award

John Klier

Dr. John Klier is global Research & Development director of Dow Performance Materials and Chemicals. Klier joined Dow’s Corporate R&D laboratories in 1989. He served in various R&D roles in the areas of microemulsion technology for consumer and industrial product formulations,...Read more

Industry Leadership Award

Michael R. Resetarits

After receiving BS and MS degrees in chemical engineering, Mr. Mike Resetarits’ career began in 1974, at Union Carbide Corporation.  While there, Mike worked on the development of the MD distillation tray and the MU liquid-liquid extraction tray.  The ECMD tray was invented with Dr. Mike Lockett...Read more

Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology

Richard Baker

Dr. Baker currently serves as MTR’s Principal Scientist.  He founded the company in 1982, and served as President for 25 years. In that time, MTR became a leading membrane research, development, engineering, and production company, concentrating on the development of membranes and membrane...Read more

Lawrence B. Evans Award in Chemical Engineering Practice

Karl V. Jacob

Karl V. Jacob is Research Scientist/Technical Leader in Engineering Sciences at The Dow Chemical Company. He is also founder of the Solids Processing Lab at Dow in Midland, Michigan. For the last three decades, he has worked on a vast array of particle technology problems, with particular...Read more

R.H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering

Award Sponsor(s): ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company
Harold H. Kung

Harold H. Kung is professor of chemical engineering at Northwestern University, where his areas of research include surface chemistry, catalysis, and chemical reaction engineering. His professional experience includes work as a research chemist at E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc. He is...Read more

Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education

Award Sponsor(s): ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company
John Falconer

John L. Falconer is the Mel and Virginia Clark Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering and a President's Teaching Scholar at the University of Colorado Boulder. He has published more than 230 papers and has 19 patents in the areas of zeolite membranes, heterogeneous catalysis,...Read more

William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature

Award Sponsor(s): John Wiley & Sons
Lorenz T. Biegler

Lorenz T. (Larry) Biegler is the Bayer Professor of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. He joined the faculty at CMU after receiving his PhD from the University of Wisconsin in 1981. Prof. Biegler was appointed as the Bayer Professor in 1996. His research is computer aided...Read more

SBE Awards

- Society for Biological Engineering (SBE) -

Biotechnology Progress Award for Excellence in Biological Engineering Publication

Award Sponsor(s): John Wiley & Sons
Anne Skaja Robinson

Anne Skaja Robinson joined Tulane University in January 2012 as the Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Prior to Tulane, Dr. Robinson was a Full Professor and Associate Chair at the University of Delaware, where she started her academic career in 1997. Her honors include a DuPont...Read more

D.I.C. Wang Award for Excellence in Biochemical Engineering

Wilfred Chen

Professor Wilfred Chen joined the University of Delaware in January 1, 2011 as the Gore Professor of Chemical Engineering. He obtained his B.S. degree from UCLA in 1988 and his Ph.D. from Caltech in 1993, both in Chemical Engineering. After one-year postdoc in Switzerland, he joined UC Riverside...Read more

James E. Bailey Award

Award Sponsor(s): Cytos Biotechnology
Martin Fussenegger

Martin Fussenegger is Professor of Biotechnology and Bioengineering at the Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering (D-BSSE) of the ETH Zurich in Basel as well as at the University of Basel. His research focuses on mammalian cell engineering, in particular on the assembly of synthetic...Read more

Committee Awards

- Minority Affairs Committee (MAC) -

Minority Affairs Committee Distinguished Service Award

Mary Lee
ExxonMobil Corporate Research

- Program Committee (PC) -

Institute Lecturer Award

Dr. Liang-Shih (L.-S.) Fan

Liang-Shih Fan is a Distinguished University C J Easton Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the Ohio State University. His research group is engaged in fundamental and applied research in the areas including fluidization and multiphase flow, particulate reaction engineering,...Read more

Division & Forum Awards

Local Section Awards

- Local Sections Committee (LSC) -

Shining Star Award

Jose Rodriguez
Dallas Local Section
Ravindra Dixit
Texas Gulf Coast Local Section
Janet Werner
Chicago Local Section
Angelo Perna
North Jersey Local Section
Sarah Bock
St. Louis Local Section