AIChE Foundation Welcomes Four New Trustees and Announces New Board Leadership in 2022

In 2022, the AIChE Foundation welcomed a new chair and vice chair, and on boarded four new Trustees who will each help support our work to support the extraordinary through the Doing a World of Good campaign. 

Bruce Chinn, CEO at Chevron Phillips Chemical, began his role as foundation chair following two years as vice chair and as his company’s representative on the Foundation’s Corporate Council. Bruce has been recognized for his professional and personal commitment to ensuring all who aspire to become ChEs can follow their dreams, focusing his philanthropy on our Minority Affairs Committee supported programs, such as scholarships.  

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis, Distinguished Professor, UC Davis, began her role as vice chair following her participation as a Trustee. Jennifer has been a long standing leader in championing professional development initiatives, particularly those of young professionals, focusing her philanthropy on our Chen Scholarships and Summer School for ChE Faculty. 

Joining the Foundation trustees are four distinguished members of our community, who bring diverse expertise and insight to our work.  “We have worked diligently to ensure the Foundation’s board and leadership represents a broad array of perspective’s, expertise, and involvement across the Institute’s footprint”, said Cathy Diana, Chief of Administration.

“I am personally delighted to welcome such a strong group of new board members, and I look forward to serving with each of them in the coming year,” said Pablo Debenedetti, immediate past chair of the AIChE Foundation. “I’m also very pleased that Bruce Chinn will lead the next chapter of our work in his new role as chair. Bruce has demonstrated exceptional commitment to advancing our mission, and his leadership will propel us to new heights of the extraordinary.”

The new board members began their three-year terms with the Foundation effective January 1, 2022 and can serve a maximum of three terms. The four new board members are:

  • Shailendra Bordawekar, VP Process and R&D – AbbVie 
  • Arindam Bose, Principal - AbiologicsB, LLC
  • Alice Gast, President – Imperial College London
  • Michael McAtee – (Retired) - BASF

Learn more about how you can make the extraordinary possible with investments of time, talent and treasure.