Important Notice: Limited Web Access Dec 16 to 18, 2016

AIChE will undertake a routine upgrade of our digital infrastructure over the weekend of December 16-18, 2016. During this period access to certain areas of the website will be limited. Additional information will be forthcoming shortly.

AIChE Members are Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

March 14, 2014

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) recently elected 67 new members and 11 foreign affiliates to its 2014 class. Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. This year, the following AIChE members joined the NAE’s distinguished ranks:

For innovations and applications in soft-matter surface science

Nicholas Abbott, John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor, and Director, Materials Research and Engineering Center, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison

For research and innovation in multiphase reactor design, high-pressure thin-film coating, and novel bioseparation processes

Ruben G. Carbonell, Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, North Carolina State Univ., Raleigh

For contributions to mathematical modeling, optimization, and automatic control of chemical and microelectronics processes, and for professional leadership

Thomas F. Edgar, George T. and Gladys H. Abell Endowed Chair in Engineering, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Univ. of Texas at Austin 

For contributions to atomically dispersed heterogenous metal catalysts for efficient production of fuels and chemicals

Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos, Robert and Marcy Haber Endowed Professor in Energy Sustainability, Tufts Univ. (Medford, MA)

For contributions to world health through the development and commercialization of dental care and personal hygiene products

Ghebre E. Tzeghai, Global Research and Development Director, Procter & Gamble Co. (Mason, OH)

For contributions to molecular sieve catalysts used in commercial applications

Stacey I. Zones, Consulting Scientist, Chevron Energy Technology Co. (Richmond, CA)