Meet AIChE’s 2022 Election Candidates

In April, AIChE’s Nominating Committee announced the slate of candidates for president-elect, secretary, and directors for the Institute’s 2022 election. Statements from the candidates are linked to below.

The president-elect will be elected to a three-year term, serving one year each as president-elect, president, and past president. The secretary and the directors are elected for three-year terms.

Important dates

Voting by paper and electronic proxy ballot will begin on September 12 and end on October 18. The election results will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting.

2022 election timeline

  • May 24 – Petition candidate due
  • August 29 – Ballot mail date
  • September 12 – Election commences
  • October 18 – Ballot receipt deadline
  • November 14 – Election results announced at the AIChE Annual Meeting in Phoenix, AZ

2022 election slate for the 2023 Board of Directors

President elect

  • John Cirucci, Arizona State Univ.
  • Alan Nelson, Redwood Materials


  • Norma Alcantar, Univ. of South Florida
  • Stephen Beaudoin, Purdue Univ.
  • Lola Eniola-Adefeso, Univ. of Michigan
  • Richard Grenville, SPX FLOW Mixing Solutions
  • Hugh James, Project Commercialization Group (PCG), Inc
  • Laura Matz, Merck, KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany
  • Todd Przybycien, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • David Shonnard, Michigan Technological Univ.

Learn more about the 2022 candidates and read their statements.