AIChE Members Elected to NAE’s Class of 2023

The U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has announced its new members for 2023. Among the new class of 106 U.S.-based and 18 international NAE members, the following members of AIChE have been elected to NAE’s distinguished ranks.

Claire S. Adjiman

Claire S. Adjiman, Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London, United Kingdom — “For developing the fundamental principles for advanced thermodynamic modeling of complex fluids and improving industrial productivity using these models.”

Connect with Claire on Engage.

Leo H. Chiang

Leo H. Chiang, Senior R&D Fellow, Dow Chemical Co., Lake Jackson, TX — “For contributions to process data analytics and its applications to process monitoring, and for continuous improvement in the chemical industry.”

Connect with Leo on Engage.

Dimitris I. Collias

Dimitris I. Collias, Research Fellow, Procter & Gamble Co., West Chester, OH — “For innovations in sustainable plastics used in consumer products to lower the carbon intensity of high-volume polymers.”

Connect with Dimitris on Engage.

Steven M. Cramer

Steven M. Cramer, William Weightman Walker Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY — “For scientific and technological advances leading to new chromatographic materials, processes, and predictive tools for the purification of biopharmaceuticals.”

Connect with Steven on Engage.

Peter T. Cummings

Peter T. Cummings, John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering (emeritus) and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (emeritus), Vanderbilt Univ., Nashville, TN —  “For simulation-based solutions to chemical engineering problems, and for innovations and leadership in modeling and computational nanoscience.”

Connect with Peter on Engage.

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis, Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Univ. of California, Davis — “For work on particle-laden flows and industrially used algorithms for dilute and dense-phase gas-solid flow.”

Connect with Jennifer on Engage.

Benny D. Freeman

Benny D. Freeman, William J. (Bill) Murray Jr. Endowed Chair in Engineering, McKetta Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Univ. of Texas at Austin — “For the development of polymeric membranes for gas separation, ion transport, and gas and water purification.”

Connect with Benny on Engage.

Peter F. Green

Peter F. Green, Deputy Laboratory Director and Chief Research Officer, Science and Technology, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, CO — “For contributions in the physics of polymer diffusion, glass behavior, and organic electronic devices and leadership in the energy technologies.”

Connect with Peter on Engage.

Deborah L. Grubbe

Deborah L. Grubbe, President and Owner, Operations and Safety Solutions LLC, Chadds Ford, PA — “For contributions and leadership to improve engineering safety practices in the chemical process industries.”

Connect with Deborah on Engage.

David Parrillo

David Parrillo, Vice President, Research and Development, Dow Chemical Co., Midland, MI — “For development and commercialization of innovative processes and products for consumer and industrial applications.”

Connect with David on Engage.

Mark Prausnitz

Mark Prausnitz, Regents’ Professor and J. Erskine Love Jr. Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA — “For invention, development, and translation of dissolvable microneedles for painless vaccination and drug delivery.”

Connect with Mark on Engage.

James E. Rekoske

James E. Rekoske, Senior Vice President, Global RD&E Industrial, Ecolab, Glenview, IL — “For leadership in development and implementation of petrochemicals, renewable fuel, alternative energy, and water conservation technologies.”

Connect with James on Engage.

Melody A. Swartz

Melody A. Swartz, William B. Ogden Professor, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering, Univ. of Chicago — “For fundamental and translational insights into lymphatic transport, immunobiology, and immunoengineering, leading to novel approaches for cancer immunotherapy and vaccination.”

Connect with Melody on Engage.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Newly elected members will be formally inducted during the NAE’s annual meeting on Oct. 1, 2023. To learn more about this year’s NAE class, visit NAE.