AIChE Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

The U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has announced its new members for 2021. The following AIChE members have been elected to NAE’s distinguished ranks.

David Bem

David Bem, Chief Technology Officer and Vice President of Science and Technology, PPG Industries — “For business leadership and a sustained record of materials discovery to commercialization.”

Connect with David on Engage.

Christopher Bowman

Christopher Bowman, Patten Chair and Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder — “For development of photopolymerization reactions for adaptable polymer networks and their innovative applications.”

Connect with Christopher on Engage.

Lance R. Collins

Lance R. Collins, Joseph Silbert Dean of Engineering, Cornell University — “For contributions to the understanding of turbulent processes, leadership in engineering, and contributions to the diversity of the profession.”

Connect with Lance on Engage.

Jonathan S. Dordick

Jonathan S. Dordick, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute — “For contributions to methods for rapidly screening drug efficacy and toxicity, and biocatalytic technologies for improving human health.”

Connect with Jonathan on Engage.

Francis J. Doyle, III

Francis J. Doyle, III, Armstrong Professor and Dean, Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University — “For insights into natural biological control systems and innovative engineering of diabetes control devices.”

Connect with Francis on Engage.

Joseph B. Powell

Joseph B. Powell, Chief Scientist–Chemical Engineering, Chemicals and New Energies Technology, Shell International Exploration and Production, Inc. (retired) — “For contributions to process developments in energy, chemicals, and biofuels technologies.”

Connect with Joseph on Engage.

Rachel A. Segalman

Rachel A. Segalman, Department Chair and Edward Noble Kramer Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering., University of California, Santa Barbara — “For contributions to semiconducting block polymers, polymeric ionic liquids, and hybrid thermoelectric materials.”

Connect with Rachel on Engage.

Kathleen J. Stebe

Kathleen J. Stebe, Goodwin Professor of Applied Sciences and Engineering, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Pennsylvania — “For contributions to the understanding of nonequilibrium processes at soft matter interfaces and its impact on new technologies.”

Connect with Kathleen on Engage.

Jefferson W. Tester

Jefferson W. Tester, Croll Professor of Sustainable Energy Systems, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Cornell University — “For leadership in development of novel renewable energy systems.”

Connect with Jefferson on Engage.

Levi Theodore Thompson

Levi Theodore Thompson, Dean of Engineering and Elizabeth Inez Kelley Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Delaware — “For advances in catalysis and energy storage, entrepreneurship, and academic leadership.”

Connect with Levi on Engage.

Jackie Y. Ying

Jackie Y. Ying, Executive Director, Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore — “For contributions at the interface of nanostructured materials, nanomedicine, and diagnostic devices to improve human health.”

Connect with Jackie on Engage.