AIChE Introduces Some of Its Recently Elected Fellows

15/33   in the series AIChE Recently Elected Fellows

Candidates for AIChE Fellow are nominated by their peers and must have significant chemical engineering experience (generally 25 years), have demonstrated significant service to the profession, and have been a member of AIChE for at least 10 years.

Here are some of the recently elected Fellows. More Fellows will be introduced in future issues of CEP and here on ChEnected.

Nada Marie Anid

Nada Marie Anid is Vice President for Strategic Communications and External Affairs at New York Institute of Technology, where she was previously Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Sciences. She is among the first engineers to study the role of vitamin B12 and other organometallic coenzymes in the dechlorination of carbon tetrachloride and polychlorinated biphenyls. An ABET curriculum evaluator, she is also a member of the AIChE Foundation’s Corporate Council and chaired the Public Affairs and Information Committee. She is author of the book The Internet of Women: Accelerating Culture Change.

Connect with Nada on Engage.

Yang Luo

Yang Luo is head of sales for Linde Engineering Americas’ adsorption and membrane plants. Previously, at Praxair, she was responsible for innovation strategy, the technology roadmap, and research and development of adsorptive systems for gas separation, including oxygen, nitrogen, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, and rare gases. She has been involved in AIChE’s Rapid Advancement in Process Intensification Deployment (RAPID) Manufacturing Institute and its initiatives. In 2015, she co-chaired the AIChE-NSF study to align industrial and academic objectives for chemical engineering graduates. She earned her PhD in chemical engineering from North Carolina State University.

Connect with Yang on Engage.

Kristala Jones Prather

Kristala Jones Prather is the Arthur D. Little Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). After earning her BS at MIT and her PhD at the University of California, Berkeley, she worked in bioprocess research and development at Merck Research Labs prior to joining the MIT faculty in 2004. Her research centers on the design and assembly of recombinant microorganisms for the production of small molecules, with additional efforts in novel bioprocess design approaches. Jones Prather has received numerous honors, and is also highly regarded for her teaching, mentorship, and educational advocacy.

Connect with Kristala on Engage.

Elsa Reichmanis

Elsa Reichmanis is Professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Lehigh University. She was previously the Pete Silas Chair of Chemical Engineering at Georgia Tech. Her research spans technology development and implementation at the interface of chemical engineering, chemistry, and materials science. A former president of the American Chemical Society (ACS), she is Executive Editor of ACS’s Chemistry of Materials. She is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and in 2018 received AIChE’s Margaret H. Rousseau Pioneer Award for Lifetime Contributions by a Woman Chemical Engineer. In 2020, she was elected to AIChE’s Board of Directors.

Connect with Elsa on Engage.