Meet Some of AIChE's New Fellows

Fellow is AIChE’s highest grade of membership and is achieved only through election by the Board of Directors. Candidates for AIChE Fellow are nominated by their peers and must have significant chemical engineering experience (generally 25 years), must have demonstrated significant service to the profession, and must have been a member of AIChE for at least 10 years. 

Below are some of AIChE's recently elected fellows, who are also featured in the May 2019 print issue of CEP.

Rajesh Davé 

Rajesh Davé is Distinguished Professor in the Dept. of Chemical and Materials Engineering at New Jersey Institute of Technology, where his research in particle engineering and materials science aims at developing better understanding of particle formation, their characterization, processing, modification, and stabilization, as well as cost-efficient manufacturing. He is a founding director of the New Jersey Center for Engineered Particulates, and a founding co-principal investigator and research leader of a National Science Foundation (NSF)-funded Engineering Research Center. He has many years of varied leadership in AIChE’s Particle Technology Forum (PTF), and received the PTF Fluidization Lectureship Award.

Connect with Rajesh on Engage.

Alice P. Gast

Alice P. Gast is President of Imperial College London. Prior to joining Imperial in 2014, she was President of Lehigh Univ., and was previously Vice President for Research, Associate Provost, and the Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). An expert in surface and interfacial phenomena and the behavior of complex fluids, Gast was also a professor at Stanford Univ., where she was affiliated with the Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory. Among numerous board positions, she is a member of the U.K. Research and Innovation Board and the Board of Directors of Chevron Corp.

Connect with Alice on Engage.

Roger G. Harrison

Roger G. Harrison is Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Univ. of Oklahoma. Among his accomplishments is the development of the NusA fusion protein system for expressing recombinant proteins in soluble form, which was patented and then licensed for distribution worldwide by Novagen, Inc. He is lead author of the widely used textbook Bioseparations Science and Engineering, and a co-author of the bioseparations subsection in the 9th edition of Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook. He has been active in AIChE since 1987, organizing many Annual Meeting sessions devoted to topics in bioengineering.

Connect with Roger on Engage.

Alon McCormick

Alon McCormick is a Professor in the Dept. of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the Univ. of Minnesota and has published nearly 200 papers about the mechanisms and kinetics of nano- and micro-structural processes in materials and fluid systems. He has served as Director of Chemical Engineering Undergraduate Studies and has chaired or served on university-wide committees devoted to education policy and research resources. In AIChE, Alon has served on all three operating councils; has initiated diversity, inclusion, and LGBTQ+ and Allies activities; and has been active in meeting programming and the Materials Engineering and Sciences Div.

Connect with Alon on Engage.

Amar K. Mohanty

Amar K. Mohanty is a Professor and the Premier’s Research Chair of Biomaterials and Transportation at the Univ. of Guelph (Ontario, Canada). He has been a leader in the drive toward a circular economy for the polymers and composites sector, and his work has been documented in more than 340 papers and 55 patents. He has chaired more than 40 sessions at AIChE Annual Meetings, and as a leader and programmer for the Forest Bioproducts Div., he initiated several new sessions related to environmentally friendly biobased and green materials, including value-added materials, coproducts, lignin-based materials, biopolymers, composites, and lignocellulosic materials.

Connect with Amar on Engage.

J. Ilja Siepmann 

J. Ilja Siepmann is Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Distinguished Teaching Professor, and a member of the graduate faculties in chemistry, chemical physics, chemical engineering, and materials science at the Univ. of Minnesota. His research focuses on particle-based simulations of complex chemical systems, and his work has advanced the capabilities of molecular simulations through the development of efficient Monte Carlo algorithms and transferable force fields. He is also the Director of the DOE-funded Nanoporous Materials Genome Center and an Associate Editor for the Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data.

Connect with Joern on Engage.