Meet the AIChE Members Newly Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 83 new members and 26 foreign members to its 2018 class. The new members will be formally inducted during a ceremony to be held at the NAE's Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, on September 20, 2018.  

This year, the following AIChE members join the NAE's distinguished ranks:

Lynden A. Archer

Lynden A. Archer, James A. Friend Family Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Cornell Univ., Ithaca, NY - For advances in nanoparticle-polymer hybrid materials in electrochemical energy storage technologies.

Connect with Lynden on AIChE Engage

Aristos Aristidou

Aristos Aristidou, director, biotechnology R&D, Cargill, Inc., North Plymouth, MN - For contributions to bioprocess and metabolic engineering for the commercial production of sustainable chemicals and plastics.

Connect with Aristos on AIChE Engage

Raymond J. Gorte

Raymond J. Gorte, Russell Pearce and Elizabeth Crimian Heuer Professor, Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Univ. of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA - For fundamental contributions and their applications to heterogeneous catalysts and solid-state electrochemical devices.

Connect with Raymond on AIChE Engage

Brian A. Korgel

Brian A. Korgel, Edward S. Hyman Endowed Chair in Engineering and T. Brockett Hudson Professor of Chemical Engineering, Univ. of Texas at Austin - For synthesis and applications of nanocrystals, nanowires, and their assemblies.

Connect with Brian on AIChE Engage

Paul F. Nealey

Paul F. Nealey, Brady W. Dougan Professor in Molecular Engineering, Institute for Molecular Engineering, Univ. of Chicago, Chicago, IL - For development of directed self-assembly of block copolymers as an industrially significant process for nanolithography.

Connect with Paul on AIChE Engage

Eleftherios Terry Papoutsakis

Eleftherios Terry Papoutsakis, Eugene DuPont Chair of Chemical Engineering, Dept. of Chemical Engineering and Delaware Biotechnology Institute, Univ. of Delaware, Newark, DE - For contributions to metabolic engineering, especially the industrial biotechnology of Clostridia, and to biomanufacturing of therapeutic proteins.

Connect with Eleftherios on AIChE Engage

W. Mark Saltzman

W. Mark Saltzman, Goizueta Foundation Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering, Yale Univ., New Haven, CT - For contributions in drug delivery, biomaterials, and tissue engineering that have led to improved patient treatments.

Connect with William on AIChE Engage

Bipin V. Vora

Bipin V. Vora, founder and principal consultant, Vora International Process Corp., Naperville, IL - For catalytic process innovations leading to commercialized petrochemical technologies.

Connect with Bipin on AIChE Engage