2013 Chem-E-Car Competition & Winners [Photos]

1/6   in the series 2013 Chem-E-Car at ASC

AIChE's Annual Student Conference welcomed 31 teams from the United States and around the globe to compete in the Chem-E-Car Competition® at the Annual Student Conference. We received great coverage on the event. SFGate said:

It was Super Sunday for more than 30 U.S. college teams and a handful of international competitors. The field was a wooden parquet floor instead of Astroturf. The protective gear involved eye glasses and lab coats. And the battle was about brains, not brawn.

Read the story in full: "Chem car contest for engineering students like Super Bowl"

2013 1st, 2nd, & 3rd place winners

University of Tulsa took first place, at 3.0.

University of Tulsa - 2013 ASC Chem-E-Car 1st Place Winners & AIChE President-Elect Otis Shelton

City College of New York earned second place, at 6.0.

CUNY - 2013 ASC Chem-E-Car 2nd Place Winners & AIChE President-Elect Otis Shelton

University of Houston ranked third, at 13.0.

University of Houston - 2013 ASC Chem-E-Car 3rd Place Winners & AIChE President-Elect Otis Shelton


Teams getting set up for the competition

CUNY's car in action
Tulsa elated after round one.
The trophies.
Huge crowd watching competition

See complete photo gallery on Flickr.

Full list of competing teams

Student Chapter




Place in Regional

University of Tulsa Jasmine Htoon Tyler Johannes Mid America 1
Oklahoma State University Meg Lees Heather Fahlenkamp Mid America 2
Kansas State University Kevin Diehl Jennifer L Anthony Mid America 3
Rutgers University Maya Gelman Maria S Tomassone Mid Atlantic 1
Virginia Tech Meredith Cook Peter Rim Mid Atlantic 2
City College of New York Evgeniya Rubin David Rumschitzhi Mid Atlantic 3
University of Maryland David Vanaskey Chunsheng Wang Mid Atlantic 4
Stony Brook University Weida Zhang Taejin Kim Mid Atlantic 5
University of Toledo Mr Kevin Garverick Dong S Kim PE North Central 1
Ohio State University Gabrielle Vasquez David L Tomasko North Central 2
University of Akron Benjamin Sauer Ed Evans North Central 3
University of Michigan Chris Fair Pablo Levelle North Central 4
Purdue University Henka Darsono Michael Harris North Central 5
Cornell University Brianna DeRooy Roseanna Zia Northeast 1
University of New Haven Mr Mina Elias Arthur S Gow Northeast 2
University of Maine Kody Allcroft John J Hwalek Northeast 3
Washington State University Ian Vanhouten Richard L Zollars Pacific Northwest 1
University of British Columbia Colleen Chau Fariborz Taghipour Pacific Northwest 2
University of North Dakota Dylan Shallbetter Frank M Bowman Rocky Mountain 1
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Wyatt Hunter Kevin Hadley Rocky Mountain 2
University of Utah Kat Bell Anthony E Butterfield Rocky Mountain 3
Georgia Institute of Technology Leon Liu Victor Breedveld Southern 1
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Kelli Byrne Steven Paddison Southern 2
University of Puerto Rico     Southern 3
University of South Florida Spencer Davis Ryan G Toomey Southern 4
University of Tennessee Mr Benjamin Kegley Tricia A W Thomas Southern 5
Tecnol?gico de Monterrey, Mexico Guillermo Alberto Garc?a Candanosa Miguel A Romero-Ogawa Southwest 1
University of Houston Rishabh Mahajan Manolis Doxastakis Southwest 2
San Jose State University Jason Everett Gregory Young Western 2
University of California Kevin Chan Roya Maboudian Western 3
Texas A&M Qatar Mostafa Aly Ghada Salama International  

Stay tuned for interview with some Chem-E-Car teams plus the official video for this year's competition. See 2012 Chem-E-Car Highlights