2011 AIChE Student Awards Ceremony [On Location]

It's time to acknowledge notable achievements of chemical engineering students during 2010. There are a variety of accolades presented at this ceremony including awards, scholarships, and competition winners. They include:

National Student Design Competition

Sponsored by AIChE and Omega Chi Epsilon

The first-place winners in the individual and team categories will present their winning designs for Gas to Liquids (GTL), in a session on Monday morning, October 17.

Individual Category
1st Place
Nathan W. Hanna
Michigan State University

Honorable Mention
Nathaniel Cy McIntee-Chmielewski
Michigan State University

Team Category
1st Place - William A. Cunningham Award
Justin Williamson, Derek A. Needham & James R. Wright
Mississippi State University

Honorable Mention
Brittany J. Quigley, Jonathan D. Jones & David Quigley
University of Mississippi

Eric Casey, Andrew S. Estess & Rebecca D. Atkinson
Mississippi State University

2011 T-shirt Design Contest

This year's winning student conference T-shirt design was created by Victoria Baldwin, Stevens Institute of Technology.

This top design received 401 votes. Here's what Victoria had to say about the design:

Click to Enlarge

This T-shirt design couples originality with a variety of important aspects of both chemistry and chemical engineering.

Though the central design reads "AIChE," the letters are rooted in five basic laboratory tools and compounds that come together heralding the attendees of the AIChE National Conference!

I hope you all really enjoy my design and thanks so much for your votes!

John J. McKetta Undergraduate Scholarship

John J McKetta

Sponsored by the Dekker Foundation

Awarded for the ninth year in 2011, this scholarship, named in honor of Professor Emeritus John J. McKetta, recognizes a chemical engineering undergraduate who is planning a career in the chemical engineering process industries.

The recipient is Peter Ries of Northeastern University

Engineers Without Borders Grant Award

The 2011 recipients of AIChE's Engineers Without Borders grant is supported by the Societal Impact Operating Council.

  • Kelly Barb, Rowan University
  • Matthew Conway, University of Maryland, College Park

Slideshow: AIChE Student Award Ceremony

Download the complete list of student award and scholarship winners for 2011.