Elected Members

Past Chair

Carl Laird

Sandia National Lab


Christos Maravelias

Chemical & Biological Engineering, University of Wisconsin

First Vice-Chair

Jay H. Lee

Chemical and Biomolecular Eng. Department, KAIST

Second Vice-Chair

Mario Eden

Department of Chemical Engineering, Auburn University


Martha A. Grover

School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

Directors 2017-2019

Michael Baldea

McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin

Benoit Chachuat

Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

Directors 2018-2020

Selen Cremaschi

Department of Chemical Engineering, Auburn University

Alexander Mitsos

Process Systems Engineering, RWTH Aachen University

Directors 2019-2021

Mona Bavarian

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Juergen Hahn

Biomedical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Ex-Officio Members

CAST Division Programming Chair

Prodromos Daoutidis

Department of Chemical Engineering and Material Science, University of Minnesota

Publications Board Chair


AIChE Operating Council Liaison

Ravindra Aglave

Siemens PLM Software

AIChE Staff Liaison

Kristine Chin


Other Leadership

CAST Division Past Programming Chair

Nick Sahinidis

Department of Chemical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University

Area 10a: Systems and Process Design

Program Coordinator for 2019

Faruque Hasan

Texas A&M

Program Coordinator for 2020

Charles Solvason

Bryan Research & Engineering

Program Coordinator for 2021

Bhavik Bakshi

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, The Ohio State University

Area 10b: Systems and Process Control

Program Coordinator for 2019

Victor Zavala

Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Wisconsin

Program Coordinator for 2020

Antonios Armaou

Department of Chemical Engineering, Penn State

Program Coordinator for 2021

Cara Touretzky


Area 10c: Systems and Process Operations

Program Coordinator for 2019

Pieter Schmal

Process Systems Enterprise (PSE)

Program Coordinator for 2020

Zukui Li

Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta

Program Coordinator for 2021

Ruth Misener

Department of Computing, Imperial College London

Area 10d: Applied Mathematics and Numerical Analysis

Program Coordinator for 2019

Yash Puranik

Rockwell Automation

Program Coordinator for 2020

Joseph Scott

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Clemson University

Program Coordinator for 2021

Ali Mesbah

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, UC Berkeley

Area 10e: Information Management and Intelligent Systems

Program Coordinator for 2019

Fani Boukouvala

School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

Program Coordinator for 2020

Bethany Nicholson

Center for Computing Research, Sandia National Laboratories

Program Coordinator for 2021

Kristen Severson


Young Professionals Liaison

Thang Ho

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

WebCAST Chair

John Hedengren

Department of Chemical Engineering,

Student Presentation Award Chair

Leo Chiang

The Dow Chemical Company

Listserv Coordinator

Ray Adomaitis

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and Institute for Systems Research, University of Maryland

Web Coordinator

Matt Bassett

Dow AgroSciences

Social Media Chair

Ashlee Ford Versypt

Chemical Engineering
Oklahoma State University