

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 2, 2019

Contact: Gordon Ellis Phone: (646) 495-1348 Email: gorde@aiche.org

AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERS TO CELEBRATE OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENTS WITH 2019 AWARDS

Innovators in Biotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, Sustainability, Education,

are Among the Honorees

NEW YORK, NY — The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) will present awards to 16 leaders and innovators in chemical engineering, at a ceremony to be held during the 2019 AIChE Annual Meeting, November 10–15, in Orlando, Florida.

AIChE's highest honor, **the Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering**, will be presented to **Dr. Ignacio E. Grossmann**, the R. R. Dean University Professor of Chemical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. The award is given to an engineer whose work has had a profound impact on the chemical engineering field.

Grossman will be honored for his pioneering work in apply mathematical programming to improve the design and operation of chemical plants and sustainable chemical processes and supply chains. He has documented his work in more than 650 articles, and he is co-author of the textbook "Systemic Methods of Chemical Process Design." Grossmann was previously honored by AIChE with its Warren K. Lewis and William H. Walker awards, and in 2008 AIChE named him one of the "One Hundred Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era." He is Fellow of AIChE and the Institute for Operations Research and the Management of Science. He earned his PhD in chemical engineering at Imperial College London.

In addition, AIChE will honor these 15 outstanding chemical engineers and industry teams:

Dr. H. Scott Fogler, the Ame and Catherine Vennema Professor of Chemical Engineering and the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor at the University of Michigan, will receive the **F. J. and Dorothy Van Antwerpen Award for Service to AIChE.** The award is sponsored by *The Dow Chemical Company*.

Dr. Elizabeth Sattely, Associate Professor at Stanford University and The Howard Hughes Medical Institute, will receive the **Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications by a Young Member of the Institute**. The award is sponsored by *E.I. duPont de Nemours & Company*.

Dr. Pablo G. Debenedetti, Dean for Research at Princeton University, will receive the **Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research**. The award is sponsored by the *Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation* and *the Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity*.

Dr. Michael S. Strano, the Carbon P. Dubbs Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will receive the **Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering**. The award is endowed by *The AIChE Foundation*.

Dr. Gilda Barabino, Dean, and the Daniel and Frances Berg Professor at The City College of New York, will receive the **Award for Service to Society**.

The 3M Cool Roofing Granules Team at the 3M Industrial Mineral Products Division, St. Paul, Minnesota, will receive the Energy and Sustainability Award. The Award is sponsored by *Air Products*.

Dr. Bindu Krishnan, Technical Leader at the Dow Chemical Company, will receive the Industrial Progress Award.

Dr. Mary T. am Ende, Vice President of Process Development at Lyndra Therapeutics, will receive the **Industrial Research and Development Award.**

Dr. Cristina U. Thomas, Senior Technical Leader and R&D Global Process Owner at 3M, will receive the **Industry Leadership Award**.

Dr. Michael Baldea, Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, will receive the **Institute Award for Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology**.

Dr. John M. Wassick, Supply Chain Technology Leader at Dow, Inc., will receive the **Lawrence B. Evans Award in Chemical Engineering Practice**. The award is endowed by *The AIChE Foundation*.

Dr. Paula T. Hammond, Chemical Engineering Department Head and David H. Koch Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will receive the **Margaret Hutchinson Rousseau Pioneer Award for Lifetime Achievement by a Woman Chemical Engineer.** The award is sponsored by *Pfizer*.

Dr. William H. Green, Jr., the Hoyt C. Hottel Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will receive the **R. H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering**. The award is sponsored by *ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company*.

Dr. Robert H. Davis, Professor at the University of Colorado Boulder, will receive the **Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education**. The award is sponsored by *ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company*.

Dr. George Georgiou, Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, will receive the **William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature**. The award is sponsored by *John Wiley & Sons*.

"These award recipients embody the best of the chemical engineering profession, with their work contributing to solutions for many global challenges," said Kimberly Ogden, president of AIChE. "AIChE is delighted to honor this distinguished group of practitioners, educators, innovators, and thought-leaders."

###

About AIChE

AIChE is a professional society of more than 60,000 chemical engineers in 110 countries. Its members work in corporations, universities, and government using their knowledge of chemical processes to develop safe and useful products for the benefit of society. Through its varied programs, AIChE continues to be a focal point for information exchange on the frontiers of chemical engineering research in such areas as energy, sustainability, biological and environmental engineering, nanotechnology, and chemical plant safety and security. More information about AIChE is available at www.aiche.org.