Sustainable Engineering Forum Student Paper Award

Award is presented to up to three full-time undergraduate or graduate students per year who prepare the best technical papers that describe results related to engineering and sustainability.

Deadline for Receiving Nominations: May 31, 2019

Award Administrator(s): Sustainable Engineering Forum (SEF)

Award:

Up to three papers will be selected each year. Student Award recipients will receive \$500 for travel expenses associated with attending the AIChE annual meeting, plus a certificate of recognition.

Presentation:

Presentation: The award is presented at the SEF luncheon during the AIChE Annual National Meeting. The Forum may offer to present the award at a SEF plenary session.

Selection Criteria:

- 1. Technical merit: The student(s) needs to provide original experimental data and/or published facts.
- 2. Quality: The student(s) should have the paper published (or to be published) in a refereed journal within the last two years. Papers submitted to (but not yet accepted to) technical journals may be considered for this award.
- 3. Results: The content of the paper needs to describe significant (to society) results.
- 4. Authorship: The student(s) needs to be the primary author(s).
- 5. Qualifications: The student(s) must be members of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the SEF, and an ABET accredited Chemical Engineering program.

Instructions

Papers may be submitted directly by student(s) or another AIChE member. An e-mail copy of the paper and a completed nomination form are to be sent to the SEF Awards Committee Chair. The student may submit an application to join SEF, if not already a member.

Application/Nomination documents should be submitted to:

SEF Awards Committee Chair

Prof. Yinlun Huang, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI 48202. Email: <u>yhuang@wayne.edu</u>. Phone: 313-577-3771

Award Winners

2018: Aida Amini-Rankouhi

Daniel J. Garcia

Andrea Paulina Ortiz-Espinoza and Karen de Jesús Guillén-Cuevas

2017: Jiyao Gao

Chandni Joshi

Majid Moradi-Aliabadi

- 2016: Emre Gencer
- 2014: Shweta Singh
- 2013: Griffin Roberts
- 2012: Zheng Liu

Preeti Gangadharan

Geoffrey Grubb Honorable Mention (Ohio State University)

2010: <u>Eman Tora</u>

2008: Christine Piluso

Ana Carvalho