SEPARATIONS DIVISION American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Scott Husson Chair Clemson University 127 Earle Hall Clemson, SC 29634 (864) 656-4502 shusson@clemson.edu Mark Davis First Vice Chair UOP 50 East Algonquin Road Des Plaines, Il 60017 (847) 375-7277 mark.davis@uop.com Roger D. Whitley Second Vice Chair Air Prod. and Chem., Inc. 7201 Hamilton Blvd. Allentown, PA 18195 (610) 481-3961 whitlerd@airproducts.com Atanas Serbezov Secretary Dept. Chem. Eng. Rose-Hulman Inst. Technol. Terre Haute, IN 47803 (812) 877-8097 serbezov@rose-hulman.edu Neil Yeoman Treasurer LNCK Associates 1723 Alexis Road Merrick, NY 11566 (516) 946-9530 loretta.neil@yahoo.com Tim Frank
Past Chair
The Dow Chemical Company
Eng. & Process Sciences
Midland, MI 48667
(989) 636-4310
tcfrank@dow.com

DIRECTORS

G. Glenn Lipscomb The University of Toledo glenn.lipscomb@utoledo.edu

Marcus Dutra e Mello Chevron mvdem@Chevron.com

Tarun Poddar tpoddar@att.net

Jeff McCutcheon University of Connecticut jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Kathleen Mihlbachler mihlbachler@yahoo.com

Anand Vennavelli FRI

vennavelli@fri.org

Megan Donaldson

Dow

medonaldson@dow.com Christopher Burcham

Lilly cburcham@lilly.com

Lauren Greenlee University of Arkansas greenlee@uark.edu

Alice Z. He Chevron azhe@chevron.com

AREA CHAIRS

Dan Summers Distillation & Absorption (2a) dan.summers@sulzer.com

Marina Tsianou Crystallization & Evaporation (2b) mtsianou@buffalo.edu

George Goff Extraction (2c) georgeg@lanl.gov

Jeff McCutcheon Membrane-Based Separations (2d) jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Matthias Thommes Adsorption & Ion Exchange (2e) matthias.thommes@quantachrome.com

Isaac K. Gamwo Fluid-Particle Separations (2f) gamwo@netl.doe.gov

Stephen Thiel Bioseparations (2g) Stephen.Thiel@uc.edu

Stephen Ritchie General Topics & Other Methods (2h) sritchie@coe.eng.ua.edu

CTOC LIAISON Sharon Robinson Oak Ridge National Lab robinsonsm@ornl.gov March 21, 2016

Dear Colleagues:

I am writing to request your assistance soliciting nominations for six Separations Division awards:

1. Graduate Student Research Awards

Recognizes outstanding graduate students in adsorption and ion exchange, crystallization and evaporation, distillation and absorption, extraction, fluid-particle separations, membrane-based separations, and bioseparations.

2. FRI/John G. Kunesh Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to the academic, scientific, technological, industrial, or service areas involving separations technologies for individuals under the age of 40.

3. Clarence (Larry) G. Gerhold Award

Recognizes an individual's outstanding contribution in research, development, or in the application of chemical separations technology. The award is presented in even years to nominees from industry or non-academic entities and in odd years to nominees from academia.

4. Founders Award

Recognizes outstanding service to the Separations Division. The recipient must have a considerable record of service to the division and the separations area, performed above and beyond expected duties, and participated extensively in a variety of division activities.

5. Innovation Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to scientific, technological, or industrial innovations involving separations technologies. The innovation should have demonstrated significant and measurable commercial, environmental, or societal value.

6. Education and Outreach Award

Supports educational and outreach activities related to separations technologies.

Directions for preparation and submission of nominations for the awards are provided on the division web site: http://www.aiche.org/community/sites/divisions/separations/awards

All nominations are due May 1, 2016.

Thank you for nominating your deserving colleagues.

Sincerely, Anand Vennavelli AIChE Separations Division Awards Director vennavelli@fri.org