



# 2024 AIChE Pharmaceutical Discovery, Development & Manufacturing (PD2M) Forum Awards

AIChE PD2M awards are presented annually to professionals and students that make outstanding contributions to the field of pharmaceutical discovery, development, and manufacturing. Award nominations will be accepted in the following categories:

Award Title	Sponsor
Excellence Award in Technical Innovation	Mettler-Toledo
Excellence Award in Process Development	Merck
Excellence Award in Manufacturing	Pfizer
Early Career Impact Award	Lilly
The PD2M Student Award (Up to X10)	Pfizer & Lilly

Selection criteria and nomination instructions for each award are provided below. The Excellence Award and Early Career Impact Award winners will receive a commemorative plaque and \$1,500. Each Student Award winner will receive a certificate and \$800, which is intended to fund travel expenses to the Annual AIChE meeting.

PD2M is responsible for coordinating the nomination and selection process for all the awards. The nomination for 2024 is now open and will close May 31, 2024. To nominate a candidate, please **Fill out this nomination form** (Link).

Questions regarding the PD2M Awards should be directed to the Awards Committee:

- Wenbin Hu (Chair, AbbVie) at wenbin.hu@Abbvie.com
- Paul Collins (Eli Lilly)
- Melda Sezen Edmonds (BMS)
- Shane Grosser (Merck)
- Ian Wheeldon (UCR)

Award presentations will occur at a special reception ceremony during the AIChE Annual Meeting. In 2024, the annual meeting will be held in San Diego, CA from Oct 27–31, 2024.

# **Award Selection Criteria**

# **Excellence Award in Technical Innovation**

#### Goals:

 Recognizes individuals with outstanding contributions in technical innovation. Encourage step changes associated with cost and speed profiles.

#### **Eligibility:**

• Can be an individual (must be AIChE member) or a team (no more than 4 members, at least 50% are AIChE member).

## Requirements:

- Nomination describing outstanding contribution on bringing novel methodologies, solutions, equipment, technologies to pharmaceutical discovery, process development and manufacturing.
- Supporting documents from public domain, and/or reference letter(s) that is from outside of the nominee's organization/institute, and/or a list of reference contacts.

# **Excellence Award in Process Development**

#### Goals:

 Recognizes individuals with outstanding contributions in the pharmaceutical process development.

#### **Eligibility:**

Can be an individual (must be AIChE member) or a team (no more than 4 members, at least 50% are AIChE member).

#### **Requirements:**

- Nomination describing outstanding contribution on development of robust pharmaceutical process. That includes but not limited to significantly improved quality control strategy, scalability, manufacturability, use of advanced process modeling tools for process development, etc.
- Supporting documents from public domain, and/or reference letter(s) that is from outside of the nominee's organization/institute, and/or a list of reference contacts.

# Excellence Award in Manufacturing

#### Goals:

 Recognizes individuals with outstanding contributions in pharmaceutical manufacturing.

#### **Eligibility:**

• Can be an individual (must be AIChE member) or a team (no more than 4 members, at least 50% are AIChE member)

#### Requirements:

- Nomination describing outstanding work incorporating engineering principles applied in pharmaceutical manufacturing. That includes but not limited to environmental sustainability, process controls and robustness, digitalization, advanced manufacturing techniques, etc.
- Supporting documents from public domain, and/or reference letter(s) that is from outside of the nominee's organization/institute, and/or a list of reference contacts.

## **Early Career Impact Award**

#### Goals:

Increase engagement of early career engineers (Industrial or Academic) with PD2M

## **Eligibility:**

- AIChE Member.
- Within 10 years of terminal degree.

#### Requirements:

- Nomination describing nominee's current area of work and impact person has had on any aspects of pharmaceutical discovery, development and manufacturing.
- Supporting reference letter.
- CV.

#### **Student Award**

#### Goals:

- Increase engagement of Ph.D. students with PD2M.
- Potential benefit Identification of students who would be interested in working in the industry.
- Increase visibility of PD2M since multiple students will highlight this recognition in their CV.
- Award of \$800 to student to support travel to AIChE Annual Meeting.

## **Eligibility:**

- AIChE member.
- Current graduate student.

#### Requirements:

- Submitted presentation (oral/poster) to PD2M-sponsored (or cosponsored) session including Meet the Industry Candidate Poster session.
- Presentation has potential relevance to pharmaceutical discovery, development and manufacturing (but not required).
- Support letter from faculty member involved with student's research activities.
- CV.

# Past PD2M Award Winners (Prior to 2022)

Year	Drug Substance Award	Drug Product Award	Integrated Award	Student Award
2010	Kevin Seibert (Lilly)	Sal Garcia-Munoz (Pfizer)		
2011	Jose Tabora (BMS)	Steve Hammond (Pfizer	Theodora Kourti (GSK)	
2012	John Lepore (Merck)	Christine Moore (FDA)	Steve Jeffrey (Lilly)	
2013	Richard Braatz (MIT)	Roger Nosal (Pfizer)	Sal Garcia-Munoz (Lilly/Pfizer)	
2014	Shailendra Bordawekar (AbbVie)	Lawrence Yu (FDA)	Stephen Conway (Merck)	
2015	Dan Hallow (J&J)	Jim Litster (Purdue)	Kristin Ploeger and Team (Hovione and Merck)	Jeff Ting (University of Minnesota)
2016	Martin Johnson (Lilly)	Bruno Hancock (Pfizer)	Hannah Robinson (GSK)	Mo Jiang (MIT)
2017	Jacob Albrecht (BMS)	William Ketterhagen (Pfizer)	Jasmine Rowe (BMS)	Meng Li (NJIT)
2018	Chris Burcham (Lilly)	Rohit Ramachandran (Rutgers)	Luke Rogers (MIT)	Connor Coley (MIT)
2019	Zoltan Nagy (Purdue)	John Peterson (GSK)	Federico Lora Gonzales (BMS)	Liang Chen (NJIT)
2020	Carla Luciani (Lilly)	Fernando Muzzio (Rutgers)	Elcin Icten (Amgen)	Laura Crowell (MIT)
2021	Shane Grosser (Merck)	Bernhardt Trout (MIT)	Moo Sun Hong (MIT)	Neil Dalvie (MIT)
2022	Andreas Bommarius (Gatech)	Rajesh Davé (NJIT)	Thomas O'Connor (FDA)	Alexandra Adams (Miami University/ Stanford)

# Past PD2M Award Winners (2023 and Later with New Awards)

Year	Technical Innovation	Process Development	Early Career Impact	Student Award
2023	Jon McMullen (Merck)	Chen Wang (AbbVie)	Melda Sezen Edmonds (BMS)	Molly Brennan (Princeton), Carley Cook (UB), Chaoying Ding (UDel), Alyssa Ekdahl (UT), Sean Engels (UT), Karoline Hebisch (Gatech), Inyoung Hur (Purdue), Krishna Inguva (MIT), Jacinta Okpanum (RPI), Yejoon Seo (Princeton), Haryana Thomas (UB), Justin Turnage (VCU)