American Institute of Chemical Engineers South Texas Section

"Gary" Award in memory of Gary L. Leach

In 1993, the Executive Committee of the South Texas Section of AIChE, under the leadership of Peter J. Waldheim, created a special award to be given at the pleasure of the South Texas Section Executive Committee in recognition of an individual's or a group of individual's efforts in behalf of the Science of Chemical Engineering, the Chemical Engineering Community, The American Institute of Chemical Engineers, or the South Texas Section of AIChE.

This award, the "Gary" Award was announced at the 50th anniversary dinner meeting of the South Texas Section and was in honor and memorial to Gary L. Leach who had served the South Texas Section in a number of positions including Section Chair and had also served as a member of AIChE Council and, finally, as President of AIChE.

The qualifications for this Award are:

- Service to the Section, AIChE, Chemical Engineering Community, or the Science of Chemical Engineering
- o Recipient should be a South Texas Section Member but this requirement can be waived.
- o There is no minimum age requirement.
- o Maximum of one (1) award per year to an individual or a group (there may be multiple recipients sharing the honor).
- o STS Exec. Comm. determines if Gary Award is to be presented.
- o Recipient(s) receives:
 - o Suitable Award Plaque with STS Name and Logo inscribed with:
 - Recipient(s)'s Name
 - Year
 - Inscription

"Gary" Award in memorial to Gary L. Leach

 Complimentary Meals for Recipient(s) and Guest(s) at STS Dinner Meeting where awards are presented.

NOTES:

Not much is known of this award as the minutes have been lost and it was recreated from memory by T. E. Menn when casting about for an award to present to Messrs. K. E. Bowers, E. L. Ekholm, and F. E. Self for their work on a Petroleum Refining Short Course and subsequent Petroleum Refining CD-Rom. When preparing the documentation of this award, T. E. Menn utilized knowledge of the Boy Scouts of America's Silver Beaver Award for Adult Scout Leaders which states that that award can be given for "past or future service".

The South Texas Section (STS) created a special award in 1993 (Peter Waldheim - Chair) to honor Gary L. Leach who had served the American Institute of Chemical Engineers in many capacities including STS Chair and National AIChE President, the office he held at the time of his premature death. This award was called the South Texas Section's "Gary" Award and was presented to the after dinner speaker at the STS 50th Anniversary Banquet. In 2000, the "Gary" Award was used to recognize Messrs. K. E. Bowers, E. L. Ekholm, and F. E. Self for their work on a Petroleum Refining Short Course and subsequent Petroleum Refining CD-Rom.