

American Institute of Chemical Engineers Dallas Section

AIChE Dallas Section Executive Committee Meeting Minutes (February 23, 2021)

The Executive Committee (EC) meeting was held by WebEx starting at 6:39 pm on February 23, 2021.

The following officers and directors attended:

Chair:	Andy Moore
Vice Chair:	Julia Tossetti
Secretary:	Richard Thut
Treasurer:	Fernando J. Aguirre
Director:	David Dickey

Directors Barrera and Singh were absent.

Welcome

• Chair Moore began the meeting by welcoming the officers and directors.

Chair Report

- Chair Moore encouraged the EC to sign up for the Dallas Regional Science and Engineering Fair. The fair was postponed a week due to weather and will be held virtually this year.
- Chair Moore presented his review and analysis of the current membership as shown below.

Туре	Count	% of Total
Students	19	26
AIChE Fellows	3	4
Senior Members	46	63
Members	5	7
Totals	73	100

Of the total membership, 30% have been members for less than 5 years and 43% have been members for over 30 years.

Below is the analysis of the non-members (either has never been a section member or has not been a section member in the last 3 years) by Chair Moore.



Туре	Count	% of Total
Students	120	20
Transitioning Students	280	47
AIChE Fellows	2	-
Senior Members	159	27
Members	37	6
Totals	598	100

Of the non-members, 67% are students or transitioning students. Also, 77% of the non-members are 0-5 year members.

- Chair Moore then led a discussion about what we should do to attract new members into the Dallas Section. Chair Moore recommended that we buy the meal for the first-time student visitor when we return to in-face meetings. Chair Moore also recommended that we waive the first-year section dues for the transitioning student. Both motions were seconded by Treasurer Aguirre and were unanimously approved by the EC. Chair Moore recommended that we draft correspondence that we can send to the local section members who do not show up regularly to our meetings to encourage their attendance. Vice Chair Tossetti indicated that she will create the various drafts and circulate them through the EC for their approval.
- Chair Moore indicated that five EC members had registered to be considered for the selection committee for the JJ King Awards (UT Austin faculty awards). Chair Moore indicated that we should hear back at the end of February if any were selected for the committee.
- DISD's Ward Coats spoke to the EC about the STEM efforts at Thomas Jefferson High School. These efforts involve high school students and their biomedical research at the UT Southwestern Medical School laboratories. The high school student's activities were described as a goal-oriented research program that involved freshmen through senior level. Future discussions may need to be scheduled to address specific equipment needs for this STEM program.

Vice Chair Report

• Vice Chair Tossetti indicated the speaker at our March meeting will be Dr. Jim Muhitch.

Secretary Report

• The approved minutes from the January 26, 2021 Executive Committee meeting were posted by Treasurer Aguirre to the AIChE Dallas Section website.

Treasurer Report

• Treasurer Aguirre reviewed the current financial report.

The EC meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.



AIChE Dallas Section Meeting Minutes (February 23, 2021)

A Dallas Section meeting followed at 7:04 pm with 16 participants. The list of meeting attendees is shown below.

Chair Moore opened the meeting and welcomed everyone. Chair Moore provided recent demographics of our section and those ChEs living in the area who are not members. After reports from the rest of the officers, Member Stevens introduced the speaker Mr. Joseph Smith, who gave the presentation titled "New World Energy Systems: Resiliency through Co-Producing Electric Power, Syn-Fuels and Chemicals". The meeting adjourned at 8:27 pm.

Richard Thut Secretary March 8, 2021

Meeting Attendees

- 1) Fernando Aguirre
- 2) Joseph Barth
- 3) David Dickey
- 4) Frederic Eisen
- 5) Gerald Gump
- 6) Kenneth Konvicka
- 7) Andrew Moore
- 8) Billy Riddle
- 9) Jose Rodriguez
- 10) Robert Stevens
- 11) Richard Thut
- 12) Julia Tossetti
- 13) John Tummons
- 14) Chandra Nair
- 15) Ward Coats
- 16) Joseph Smith