SEPARATIONS DIVISION American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Mark M. Davis Chair Honeywell UOP 25 East Algonquin Road Des Plaines, Il 60017 (847) 375-7277 mark.davis4@honeywell.com

DIRECTORS

Tarun Poddar tpoddar@att.net

Jeff McCutcheon University of Connecticut jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Kathleen Mihlbachler mihlbachler@yahoo.com

Anand Vennavelli FRI vennavelli@fri.org

Megan Donaldson

Dow medonaldson@dow.com

Christopher Burcham Lilly cburcham@lilly.com

Lauren Greenlee University of Arkansas greenlee@uark.edu

Alice Z. He Chevron azhe@chevron.com

Marina Tsianou University at Buffalo mtsianou@buffalo.edu

Isaac K. Gamwo NETL/DOE gamwo@netl.doe.gov

AREA CHAIRS

Dan Summers Distillation & Absorption (2a) dan.summers@sulzer.com

Marina Tsianou Crystallization & Evaporation (2b) mtsianou@buffalo.edu

George Goff Extraction (2c) georgeg@lanl.gov

Jeff McCutcheon Membrane-Based Separations (2d) jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Matthias Thommes Adsorption & Ion Exchange (2e) matthias.thommes@quantachrome.com

Isaac K. Gamwo Fluid-Particle Separations (2f) gamwo@netl.doe.gov

Stephen Thiel Bioseparations (2g) Stephen.Thiel@uc.edu

Stephen Ritchie General Topics & Other Methods (2h) sritchie@eng.ua.edu

CTOC LIAISON Katherine Gawel katherine.gawel@gmail.com Roger D. Whitley Marcus Dutra e Mello Second Vice Chair Air Prod. and Chem., Inc. Chevron 7201 Hamilton Blvd. 100 Chevron Way Richmond, CA 94801 Allentown, PA 18195 (510) 242-1414 whitlerd@airproducts.com mvdem@Chevron.com

First Vice Chair

(610) 481-3961

Atanas Serbezov Secretary Dept. Chem. Eng. Rose-Hulman Inst. Technol. Terre Haute, IN 47803 (812) 877-8097 serbezov@rose-hulman.edu

Neil Yeoman Treasurer LNCK Associates 1723 Alexis Road Merrick, NY 11566 (516) 946-9530 loretta.neil@yahoo.com

Scott Husson Past Chair Clemson University 127 Earle Hall Clemson, SC 29634 (864) 656-4502 shusson@clemson.edu

MINUTES Separations Division Online Planning Meeting

Friday, April 26, 2017 – 1 pm – 2 pm (EDT)

Attendance (via phone or Skype):

Mark Davis Atanas Serbezov Megan Donaldson Alice He Marina Tsianou

Roger Whitley Scott Husson Christopher Burcham Stefano Brandani Nick Merchant

Marcus Mello Kathleen Mihlbachler Tarun Poddar Jeff McCutcheon Tim Frank

New CTOC Liaison (Mark Davis)

Katherine Gawel is the new CTOC liaison for the Division.

Approval of Minutes from the February Online Meeting (Atanas Serbezov)

The minutes were distributed by e-mail. No additions or corrections were received. A motion to approve the minutes as distributed by e-mail was seconded and passed by acclamation.

Finalized Revisions and Voting Time Line for the Division's Bylaws Update (Scott Husson and Alice He)

The revisions suggested during the February online planning meeting were made and distributed via e-mail several weeks ago. Scott asked for specific feedback on the submitted material. There were no additions or corrections. Scott and Alice were commended for a job well done.

The next step is for the Division Council to formally approve the revised bylaws.

Action item: Scott and Alice will send an unmarked copy of the revised bylaws to Mark Davis who will distribute it to the Division Council.

Action item: Mark Davis will set a separate online meeting of the Division Council (preferably in May) to vote on the revised bylaws.

If approved by the Division Council, the revised bylaws will be sent via email to the Division members for review and comments. In the same communication, the Division members will be informed that voting on the bylaws will be electronic and handled by AIChE. It was suggested to combine the voting on the revised bylaws with the voting on the ballot for new officers.

Kunesh Award Language Revisions Related to Age Requirement (Mark Davis on behalf of Anand Vennavelli) A potential issue with the language in the Kunesh Award allowing individuals over the age of 40 to receive the award was identified at the February online planning meeting. Anand developed a new language to prevent nominations from being carried over indefinitely:

"Nominations will remain open as long as the candidate is eligible for nomination in the current award year."

Motion: Approve the language for the Kunesh Award proposed by Anand The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Action item: Megan Donaldson will update the Kunesh Award description on the Division's web page.

Innovation Award Administration in 2017 (Mark Davis)

Mark Davis has a conflict of interest administering the Innovation award in 2017. The award will be administered by Roger Whitley.

Abstract Submission Deadline for 2017 Annual Meeting (Mark Davis)

The abstract submission deadline of April 17, 2017 set and rigidly enforced by AIChE was a poor choice. It was a few weeks earlier compared to past years, and in addition, was in the middle of a long holiday and a tax filing deadline. Many session chairs were caught off-guard and scrambled to fill their sessions with quality presentations.

Action item: Mark Davis will contact Katherine Gawel, Division's CTOC liaison, and will ask her to take the issue to CTOC.

Action item: Jeff McCutcheon will explore the option for area chairs (and possibly session chairs) to manually add submissions on behalf of authors after the deadline. If successful, he will share the procedure with other area chairs.

Investment Options for Division Funds (Mark Davis and Tarun Poddar)

Tarun Poddar (Assistant Treasurer) has spoken with Rick Cain (Director of Finance at AIChE) who provided initial information about investment options for Division's funds. In a conference call organized by Mark Davis, Tarun briefed the Executive Committee of the Division about his conversation with Rick Cain. The Executive Committee requested more information to fully understand all options and constraints. Tarun will contact Rick Cain again and will report back when information is complete.