Scott Husson Chair Clemson University 127 Earle Hall Clemson, SC 29634 (864) 656-4502 shusson@clemson.edu

Mark Davis

UOP

First Vice Chair

(847) 375-7277

DIRECTORS

G. Glenn Lipscomb The University of Toledo glenn.lipscomb@utoledo.edu

Marcus Dutra e Mello Chevron mvdem@Chevron.com

Tarun Poddar tpoddar@att.net

Jeff McCutcheon University of Connecticut jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Kathleen Mihlbachler mihlbachler@yahoo.com

Anand Vennavelli FRI

vennavelli@fri.org Megan Donaldson Dow

medonaldson@dow.com

Christopher Burcham Lillv cburcham@lilly.com

Lauren Greenlee University of Arkansas greenlee@uark.edu

Alice Z. He Chevron azhe@chevron.com

AREA CHAIRS

Dan Summers Distillation & Absorption (2a) dan.summers@sulzer.com

Marina Tsianou Crystallization & Evaporation (2b) mtsianou@buffalo.edu

George Goff Extraction (2c) georgeg@lanl.gov

Jeff McCutcheon Membrane-Based Separations (2d) jeff@engr.uconn.edu

Matthias Thommes Adsorption & Ion Exchange (2e) matthias.thommes@quantachrome.com

Isaac K. Gamwo Fluid-Particle Separations (2f) gamwo@netl.doe.gov

Stephen Thiel Bioseparations (2g) Stephen.Thiel@uc.edu

Stephen Ritchie General Topics & Other Methods (2h) sritchie@coe.eng.ua.edu

CTOC LIAISON Sharon Robinson Oak Ridge National Lab robinsonsm@ornl.gov

Roger D. Whitley Second Vice Chair Air Prod. and Chem., Inc. 50 East Algonquin Road 7201 Hamilton Blvd. Des Plaines, Il 60017 Allentown, PA 18195 (610) 481-3961 mark.davis@uop.com whitlerd@airproducts.com

Atanas Serbezov Secretary Dept. Chem. Eng. Rose-Hulman Inst. Technol. Terre Haute, IN 47803 (812) 877-8097 serbezov@rose-hulman.edu

SEPARATIONS DIVISION American Institute of Chemical Engineers

> Neil Yeoman Treasurer LNCK Associates 1723 Alexis Road Merrick, NY 11566 (516) 946 - 9530loretta.neil@yahoo.com

Tim Frank Past Chair The Dow Chemical Company Eng. & Process Sciences Midland, MI 48667 (989) 636-4310 tcfrank@dow.com

MINUTES Separations Division Planning Online Meeting

Friday, March 4, 2016 - 11am - Noon (EST) **Remote Meeting**

Attendance (via phone or Skype):

Scott Husson Atanas Serbezov Marcus Mello Megan Donaldson Mark Pilling Stephen Thiel

Neil Yeoman Tarun Poddar Lauren Greenlee Dan Summers Nick Merchant

Mark Davis

Roger D. Whitley G. Glenn Lipscomb Anand Vennavelli Alice He Matthias Thommes

Introductions (Scott Husson)

Scott introduced the leadership of the Division.

Approval of Minutes from Salt Lake City (Atanas Serbezov)

The following correction to the minutes related to the Award Responsibilities have been made:

Award Responsibilities:

- Chair Founders Award
- $1^{st} VC -$
- 2nd VC Awards Dinner
- Past Chair Kunesh Award
- Past Past Chair Innovation Award

A motion to approve the minutes as distributed by e-mail with the above correction was seconded and passed by acclamation.

Award Responsibilities Discussion

Following a brief discussion, the topic of Award Responsibilities was tabled for a future meeting. Specific issues that were raised were the coordination of the Educational Outreach Award and the lack of award responsibilities for the 1st VC.

Review of Action Items from Salt Lake City (Scott Husson)

Awards

- Develop a proposal for a future structure of poster awards
 - Status not known
 - Proactively advertise the Kunesh award
 - All leadership is encouraged to solicit nominations

Separations Division Planning Meeting Spring 2016, March 4, 2016

Programming

- Inform Area Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the Division's recommendation to accept no more than 7 presentations in the oral sessions and ask them to communicate this to the session chairs.
 - Not done yet
- Contact AIChE to explore the feasibility of modifying the Confex system so that the duration of the talks in a session is preset to 20 min (7 talks), 25 min (6 talks), 30 min (5 talks)
 - Contact initiated
- Include session on Separations Process Efficiency for 2016 SF meeting
 Session scheduled
- Present results from ALTSEP Workshop at 2016 SF meeting.
 - To be discussed at a future planning meeting
- Decide whether to continue joint poster session practice.
 - To be discussed at a future planning meeting

Director responsibilities

• Will be discussed later in this planning meeting

Policy for Handling Voting via E-mail

• Not done yet

Session Programming Summary and Plans (Scott Husson)

2016 Spring Meeting- Houston, April 10-14

• Topical 8: Distillation Symposium

2016 Annual Meeting - San Francisco, November 13-18

- Plenary Session: Gerhold and Kunesh Awards on Separations
 Session planning is complete.
- ALTSEP: Sustainable Separation Processes Road Mapping
 - To be discussed at a future planning meeting
- Separation Process Efficiency Session
 - Created and open for contributions
- Joint Poster Session
 - To be discussed at a future planning meeting
- Rapid Fire Session: TED-SEP Separations Division
 - Created and open for contributions
 - In an upcoming planning meeting, discuss how to improve TED-SEP session attendance/participation. Invite the organizers (John Pellegrino and Paul Scovazzo) to join the discussion.

Action item: Area chairs for 02B (Marina Tsianou) and 02D (Jeff McCutcheon) to make sure that all sessions for 2016 SF meeting sponsored or co-sponsored by these areas have co-chairs.

Review Current Director Roles (Scott Husson)

Webmaster

• Megan Donaldson is taking over Roger Whitley as Division's webmaster

LinkedIN Coordinator

• Marcus Mello will continue to serve as LinkedIN Coordinator after his term expires at the end of 2016

Assistant Treasurer

• Tarun Poddar will continue to serve as Assistant Treasurer.

Newsletter Editor

• Tim Frank will continue to serve as Newsletter Editor for one more issue but a successor is needed.

Advisory Council Liaison

• Mark Pilling will continue to serve as Advisory Council Liaison. Chris Burcham will join Mark as Co-Liaison.

CTOC Liaison

• The CTOC Liaison is appointed by the CTOC Chair. Currently this role is filled by Sharon Robinson.

Action item: Scott Husson will contact the CTOC Chair to discuss succession plans.

New Roles for Directors (Scott Husson)

Diversity Planning Coordinator

• Kathleen Mihlbachler and Megan Donaldson have volunteered for this role.

Interactions with Other Organizations

• Chris Burcham has volunteered for this role.

Open Roles for Directors (Scott Husson)

- Division bylaws review and update
- Awards promotion and advertising
- Membership growth initiatives
- Fundraising coordinator
- Newsletter Editor

Action item: Current Directors who are willing to fill one (or more) open roles from the above list should contact Scott Husson.

Tentative Agendas for Future Meetings (Scott Husson)

April 1-hour meeting (date TBD)

- Treasurer's report (Neil Yeoman, Tarun Poddar)
- Awards program status and plans (Anand Vennavelli)
- Annual awards banquet planning (Roger Whitley)
- Discussion of subsidy for annual awards banquet (Scott Husson)
- CTOC update (Sharon Robinson)
- Decide whether to continue joint poster session practice (ALL)
- May 1-hour meeting (date TBD)
 - Area reports (Area Chairs or Co-chairs)
 - Website status and plans (Megan Donaldson)
 - Social media status & plans (Marcus Mello)
 - Separations Division Advisory Council Update (Mark Pilling)
 - How to improve TED-SEP session attendance/participation (All, invite John Pellegrino and Paul Scovazzo)

Separations Division Planning Meeting Spring 2016, March 4, 2016