# SEPARATIONS DIVISION American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Linda Wang Chair Dept. Chem. Eng. Purdue University West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4081 wangn@ecn.purdue.edu G. Glenn Lipscomb First Vice Chair Dept. Chem. and Environ. Eng. University of Toledo Toledo, OH 43606-3390 (419) 530-8088 glenn.lipscomb@utoledo.edu Tim Frank Second Vice Chair The Dow Chemical Company Eng. & Process Sciences Midland, MI 48667 (989) 636-4310 tcfrank@dow.com

Secretary Dept. Chem. Eng. Rose-Hulman Inst. Technol. Terre Haute, IN 47803 (812) 877-8097 serbezov@rose-hulman.edu

Atanas Serbezov

Neil Yeoman Treasurer LNCK Associates 1723 Alexis Road Merrick, NY 11566 (516) 946-9530 loretta.neil@yahoo.com Mark Pilling Past Chair Sulzer Chemtech USA 1 Sulzer Way Tulsa, OK 74131 (918) 447-7652 Mark.Pilling@sulzer.com

## DIRECTORS

Krista Walton Georgia Institute of Technology krista.walton@chbe.gatech.edu

Scott Husson Clemson University shusson@clemson.edu

Mike Resetarits Fractionation Research, Inc. resetarits@fri.org

Nicholas Urbanski SepDivArea2a@aol.com

Mark M. Davis UOP

mark.davis@uop.com

Isabel C. Escobar The University of Toledo isabel.escobar@utoledo.edu

Sharon Robinson Oak Ridge National Lab robinsonsm@ornl.gov

Roger D. Whitley Air Products and Chemicals whitlerd@airproducts.com

Marcus Dutra e Mello Chevron mvdem@Chevron.com

Tarun Poddar tpoddar@att.net

Jeff McCutcheon University of Connecticut ieff@engr.uconn.edu

#### AREA CHAIRS

Nicholas Urbanski Distillation & Absorption (2a) SepDivArea2a@aol.com

Paul Kenis Crystallization & Evaporation (2b) kenis@illinois.edu

Megan Donaldson Extraction (2c) medonaldson@dow.com

Tarun Poddar Membrane-Based Separations (2d) tpoddar@att.net

Roger D. Whitley Adsorption & Ion Exchange (2e) whitlerd@airproducts.com

Isaac Gamwo Fluid-Particle Separations (2f) gamwo@netl.doe.gov

Kathleen Mihlbachler Bioseparations (2g) mihlbach@ADM.NJIT.EDU

Alice He General Topics & Other Methods (2h) azhe@chevron.com

CTOC LIAISON Sharon Robinson Oak Ridge National Lab robinsonsm@ornl.gov

# **MINUTES**

Separations Division Planning Meeting American Institute of Chemical Engineers 2013 AIChE Annual Meeting

Sunday, November 3, 2013 - Noon to 5:00 pm Mission 1&2 (Parc 55 Wyndham)

## Attendance:

Linda Wang G. Glenn Lipscomb Tim Frank
Scott Husson Atanas Serbezov Neil Yeoman
Mark Pilling Nicholas Urbanski Daniel Summers
Isaac Gamwo Seyi Odueyungbo Tarun Poddar
Sharon Robinson Roger D. Whitley Marcus Dutra e Mello

Jeff McCutcheonKathleen MihlbachlerAlice HeD.B. BhattacharyyaStephen RitchieLauren GreenleeJessica MolekPaul BryanRanil Wickramasinghe

Benny Freeman

# Approval of Minutes from San Antonio (Spring 2013)

The motion to approve the minutes was seconded and passed unanimously.

# Election Results (Mark Pilling)

Scott Husson – 2nd Vice Chair Anand Vennavelli – Director Kathleen Mihlbachler – Director Neil Yeoman - Treasurer. Atanas Serbezov – Secretary

## CTOC Report (Sharon Robinson)

CTOC has completed an extensive survey of the best practices among AIChE Divisions and Forums. The survey had 100 % participation. The data are currently analyzed and will be communicated to the Divisions and Forums in the near future.

## New Initiatives:

 Establish NuClean as a nuclear waste management center of excellence to leverage chemical engineering expertise on nuclear waste management and engage with broader professional efforts on underlying multi-disciplinary public and technical community information, research, outreach and education needs.

#### Treasurer Report (Neil Yeoman)

The report is distributed electronically (via e-mail) every month. If anyone wants a copy, he/she can contact Neil. The financial health of the Division is good. The most recent balance is around \$77,000. The Division balance has been flat for the past couple of years. The annual expenses of the Division are approximately \$20,000, balanced by a net income of approximately the same amount. The Division has funds to spend for a good cause. Ideas from the officers and members are welcome.

1

# Review of Action Items from San Antonio

- The Division has procured a digital camera in custody of the Awards Director.
- The Division has procured a second computer projector in custody of Area 2d (Membranes).
- A LinkedIN group for the Division is now up and running managed by Marcus Mello.
- The Division Secretary has access to the current list of members and their contact information.

## Computer Projectors for Area Planning Meetings

In order to provide better use of the Division's funds, area chairs should not rent projectors from the conference/hotel facility when making room reservations for their planning meetings. Instead, they should contact the Division Chair and Area 2d chair to make arrangements for one of the two computer projectors owned by the Division.

# LinkedIN group for the Division (Marcus Mello)

Marcus has started a LinkedIn group for the Division and is currently the group manager. There are currently 55 members in the group. Only members of the Separations Division in good standing are admitted to the group at this point.

## Updated Membership Lists (Atanas Serbezov)

The Division has now access to its current membership list in the AIChE database. Contact Atanas Serbezov if you need to send a communication to the general membership of the Division.

#### **Division Website**

The Division will not renew and will close its own website on GoDaddy and will only use the web site hosted by AIChE.

<u>Motion:</u> That the Division's website hosted by AIChE be the only website for the Division and that all other web sites with Division content be closed and deactivated.

The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Roger Whitley will be the new Webmaster for the Division.

#### Newsletter

Tim Frank has volunteered to create and send out a newsletter based on photos taken at the Awards Dinner. The photos will be taken with the Division's new camera.

### Awards (Nicholas Urbanski)

The deadline for award nominations has been moved to May 1 in order to meet AIChE deadlines for award announcements in the Annual meeting program book. Detailed information of the awards can be found on the Division web site hosted by AIChE.

## Renaming of the Separations Division Service Award to Separations Division Founders Award

<u>Motion:</u> That the currently existing Separations Division Service Award be renamed to Separations Division Founders Award.

The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

# New Award for Technical Innovation

**Motion:** A new award for technical innovation be created.

The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Nick Urbanski will develop an award description to be discussed at the next planning meeting.

# **Programming Notes**

- In order to improve the quality of the oral presentations, the Division recommends that session chairs accept no more than 7 presentations in the oral sessions, which will guarantee at least 20 minutes for a talk. Area chairs should communicate this recommendation the session chairs.
- Area 2a is planning a topical conference on CO<sub>2</sub> sequestration for the 2014 Annual meeting.
- Area 2h is planning a session on Separation Challenges in Upstream Production for the 2014 Annual meeting.