Date: July 26, 2016

To: AlChE Ethylene Producers' Committee, Process Control Subcommittee

From: Sasha Vragolic

Subject: Minutes of July 14, 2016, Subcommittee Meeting

Location: Teleconference

Attendees:

Michael Chisholm Shell

Swapnil Garge ExxonMobil
Ken Jackson DuPont
Rohit Kawathekar AMT

Peter Le Schneider Electric

Ken Praprost ABB

Sanjay Sharma Honeywell
Marc Spravier INEOS
Javier Vasquez KBR
Sasha Vragolic FHR

Excused:

Satish Baliga KBR Jack Buehler Shell

Eddy Fontenot Aspen Tech

David Jones KBR

Curtis Kelly Schneider Electric

Stuart Nield Nova Mike Polasek Eastman Kiran Sheth ExxonMobil

Pete Traynor Thermo Fisher Scientific

Jim Wu Lyondell Basell

Absent:

Trent Hubbert PAS

Brian O'Rourke Westlake

Mark Roffman Chevron Phillips

Justin Westmoreland BASF

Minutes (Action Items are in Bold Text):

- 1.) Sasha Vragolic called the meeting to order at 3:06pm.
- 2.) Sasha Vragolic read the Anti-Trust Statement of the EPC Bylaws.
- 3.) Sasha Vragolic called and recorded the roll. There were 10 attendees.
- 4.) Sanjay Sharma nominated Sasha Vragolic for subcommittee chair. Javier Vasquez seconded the motion. There were no other nominations.
- 5.) Sanjay Sharma nominated Eddy Fontenot for subcommittee vice-chair. Javier Vasquez seconded the motion. There were no other nominations.

- 6.) Sanjay Sharma volunteered to receive votes for Chair and Vice-Chair. The deadline to vote is July 28th. After the votes are counted, Sanjay will send out an e-mail to the Process Control Subcommittee, announcing the results.
- 7.) The Subcommittee discussed the potential new member, Helmut Groenegraes, who works for Linde Engineering. After the discussion, the members present voted unanimously to accept Helmut as a member. Sasha Vragolic will send out an e-mail to Helmut, welcoming him to the subcommittee. Eddy Fontenot will add Helmut to the Subcommittee roster.
- 8.) The members discussed the 2016 EPC Process Control session and reviewed the feedback forms. The following was noted:
 - a. Overall, the feedback was very positive and the attendance was significantly improved from the 2015 session. The Monday morning time slot worked very well with the limited program.
 - Mark Siddoway, with DOW, indicated an interest in presenting a paper. Sasha will follow up with Mark.
 - c. Shankhadeep Das, with DOW, indicated an interest in presenting a future paper. **He did** present a paper at the **2016** session. Sasha will follow up with Shankhadeep.
 - d. Several comments indicated an interest in a Process Control tutorial session and several others indicated an interest in an RTO tutorial session. The members should consider presenting a tutorial, if we can get enough volunteers to prepare one. The last tutorial, that I am aware of, was presented in 2003 by Don Bartusiak, Chris Reed, Bill Mathews, Jim Hackney, Satish Baliga, with input from Jeff Jones, and Rogier Pouwer. It was an excellent tutorial.
- 9.) Sasha Vragolic reviewed the list of potential papers with the subcommittee. The updated spreadsheet is attached.
- 10.) Sanjay needs access to the EPC paper and presentation database. Sasha will follow up with the EPC Knowledge Management Subcommittee to see if Honeywell has an active subscription.
- 11.) The meeting was adjourned.
- 12.) The next meeting was not set. My thoughts are to try and meet one week prior to the Main Committee meetings until we vote on our program. So, we should have **our next teleconference meeting on Thursday September 8**th, **2016.** It will be a teleconference from 3pm to 5pm. I expect us to meet again on October 20th and November 17th. Hopefully, we can finalize our program on November 17th. The calendar is a little compressed this year because the conference will start a little earlier, on March 26, 2017.

Thanks, Sasha Vragolic